• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

up-b cancel clarification

DrGrimReaper

Smash Apprentice
I been trying and trying but I can never ever get it! >_>

I have a theory to explain my difficulties! in not only up-b cancel but also in SHBAWD/SHUAWD. I don't think it's necc. the dexterity of my hands that prevents me from getting the combination of buttons in, mind you but I'm a very pro pen twiddler so my hands are quite dexterous, but I have a feeling that it might actually be the controller itself!

See, I had my GC since whenever they came out, (whenever that was), and likewise for this particular controller, in otherwords, the analog stick is rather loose & limpy (LOL).

-Could this be a problem in trying to perform moves like SHBAWD, SHUAWD, SHFFL'd attacks, & up-b cancel?

--if so, how much do new(er) controllers cost these days in your opinion?

---or, is there a means of remedying my heavily used controller?

thx for yer input folkz!

TheHiveMind

Smash Cadet
The same sort of thing happened with my N64 controllers, and it may make a slight difference to the speed you can do those moves, mainly because sometimes, if your joystick is too loose, your GC might read your neutral joystick position as a direction, which is problematic.

These days New GC controllers are reeely cheap. If you can, buy a wave-bird(wireless GC controller) for around maybe 40 dollars, which was the price two years ago. They're great cuz theres no cords to untangle and you can play from far away.