1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash stuff and support the site, like a Nintendo Controller or the Wii U - Gamecube adaptor ! Check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

Textures now possible without ISO Hacking! (File Patch v3.5.1, fixes info.pac problem

Discussion in 'Brawl Workshop' started by Revven, Mar 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
  2. Zantetsu

    Zantetsu
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Master

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4,413
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    Looks interesting. I'll try it out tonight O:
     
  3. ShortFuse

    ShortFuse
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,523
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    Good stuff. and good timing. i'm recompiling geckoOS, eliminating 256 line cap
     
  4. Roxas215

    Roxas215
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Location:
    The World That Never Was
    Is this even possible? Without line cap we can play brawl+ with custom songs and custom textures all on a retail disk?? I LOVE YALL!!!!!!!
     
  5. tnemrot

    tnemrot
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Wow, that's great!
     
  6. GHNeko

    GHNeko
    Expand Collapse
    Sega Stockholm Syndrome.

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    20,002
    Location:
    テキサス、アメリカ
    3DS FC:
    3308-4591-1971
    NNID:
    GHNeko
    So with this, we'll be able to use the method on making custom music files in conjuncture with this amazing code and the new Gecko OS?

    What a MARVELOUS DAY. SUCH A GLORIOUS DAY.
     
  7. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Hell yeah boiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii.
     
  8. Sanu

    Sanu
    Expand Collapse
    Princess of Heart

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Yay, awesome! I love everyone on this board O___O.

    BTW, I take it the music codes are listed in another thread?
     
  9. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    You don't need music codes, just the names, which I supplied at the end of my post. You also need to convert it to a .brstm so Brawl can recognize it. The codes at the top of the page can be used to load anything off of the SD Card as long as it is in the proper directory and it will replace the proper file.
     
  10. GHNeko

    GHNeko
    Expand Collapse
    Sega Stockholm Syndrome.

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    20,002
    Location:
    テキサス、アメリカ
    3DS FC:
    3308-4591-1971
    NNID:
    GHNeko
    This basically makes the My Music Hack pointless now.
     
  11. bobson

    bobson
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,675
    I wasn't able to replace Final Destination's default theme with this.
    First I tried with title.brstm I ripped from Animal Crossing, then I tried with a different song ripped from Brawl. Renamed each X05.brstm and placed them at first in /private/wii/app/RSBE/sound/strm/ and afterward in /private/wii/app/RSBE/pf/sound/strm/ and neither worked.

    I also get a "Receiving vault data" window upon boot and load times for replay/custom stage/album data increased significantly.
     
  12. Xane

    Xane
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Germany
    3DS FC:
    3866-8124-2065
    NNID:
    XaneFeather
    Any possibility for a PAL version?
    I'd like to test it out as well.
     
  13. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio

    Also, PW already said that you should expect loading times to become different.

    Edit: Oh, I see, nevermind. Well, let me go ask about it then.
     
  14. ShortFuse

    ShortFuse
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,523
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    Well, I remember I ripped the file list when Brawl first came out. Let me post the file list

    Here it is:

    http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=137696

    It looks like this

    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\U10.brstm
    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\U11.brstm
    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\U12.brstm
    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\U13.brstm
    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\W01.brstm
    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\W02.brstm
    \RSBJ01\sound\strm\W03.brstm
     
  15. bobson

    bobson
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,675
    Texture replacements, on the other hand, are working swimmingly.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. jokey665

    jokey665
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Just got done setting up a bunch of textures and trying it out. I had some issues. Namely, certain characters weren't working. I don't know if it was due to the textures I was using or what. Here's the character I got textures to work for: Lucas, Fox, Wolf. I tried, but did not achieve success with: ROB, Toon Link, Kirby. I would have tried more but it froze about 15 seconds into the match with Wolf, so I figured I would come here and complain about it.
     
  17. Roxas215

    Roxas215
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Location:
    The World That Never Was
    I tried 3 texture hacks i downloaded from stack smash and only one worked. The other 2 froze when i picked said char.


    I asumme you have to rename the files exactly as they are on the disk right?

    So i named the 2 texture filed
    FitPeach00.pcs
    FitPeach00.pac

    I used lz77ex to create the pac file from the pcs i downloaded from text smash

    Only the nes peach texture worked. Am i doing something wrong?
     
  18. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I am sending any and all complaints to PW so he can fix anything that may be wrong with the codes.
     
  19. jokey665

    jokey665
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I hope it gets resolved soon, I was so looking forward to playing as Geno (Toon Link)!
     
  20. trojanpooh

    trojanpooh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,186
    When do you know it worked? Do the pictures change or only the in game model?

    Also, is the first path supposed to be apps and not app? I can't get falconchu to work
     
  21. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    It has to be app and you know it worked if it loads the texture you chose it to replace (in-game in other words).
     
  22. Ozz.

    Ozz.
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    SoCal
    3DS FC:
    4270-3328-2466
    Someone make purple falco :p
     
  23. trojanpooh

    trojanpooh
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,186
    Thanks, time to test it out the right way.

    Edit: I tested out Darkrai Lucario, Sigma Ganon, Trainer Ness , and FalconChu from stack smash, and all worked except Pikachu. Do we know how to do stages yet?
     
  24. Greenpoe

    Greenpoe
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    852
    Why? The music hacks will allow you to easily swap any songs which will remain there even if you turn those codes off (the Wii remembers your choices for some reason). With the music hacking program, music hacks are simpler.
     
  25. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    PW said you can't do stages yet. PW ALSO said he tested all the characters to make sure they work, and he said if you're having problems it's the texture itself. Also, when you select the color of the texture you replaced, make sure to wait for the game to be done loading the color (when the beeping stops).
     
  26. Dan_X

    Dan_X
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    This is really awesome! I've yet to try this yet.. but, does any1 know where to get textures? Has Syntax Error released those textures they made? I recall there being a picture of tons of characters with different textures. Are those available?

    How does the hack work? If I put a texture on for Falco (which I'd be looking for because I main Falco) can I still choose from his other textures while in game? Or am I stuck with the hacked texture? Does the hacked texture simply become another selectable costume? Can to people play the same character at the same time, and only one with the texture hacked costume?
     
  27. ndayday

    ndayday
    Expand Collapse
    stuck on a whole different plaaaanet

    • Premium
    • Back Roomer
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    19,628
    Location:
    MI

    HOLY COW.

    This is amazing...can't wait to try some of these.
     
  28. Shadic

    Shadic
    Expand Collapse
    Alakadoof?

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    NNID:
    Shadoof

    Once we get more lines, this is going to be AWESOME.
     
  29. FireKirby7

    FireKirby7
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    For textures, do I make a new folder in private/wii/APP/RSBE and call it pf?
    Then I put the .pcs files, mainly the ones from Stack Smash, into that folder?
    Then I turn on the File Replacement, Dynamic SD Loader, and SD Files codes on, and turn on the game with Gecko OS, and the textures will be stored, right?

    Right now I'm just trying to do character textures...
    And huge thumbs up to Phantom Wings! We love you!! ^_^
     
  30. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    1. Stack Smash has textures, search them up on Google.
    2. Yes you can still choose from his other colors.
    3. It becomes a selectable costume based on which color you chose for it to replace.
    4. I do not know about the same texture hack, I would assume it would create a ghost color just like any normal color would.
    5. The codes work like this: you create the following directory for textures

    private/wii/app/RSBE/pf/fighter/[insert character here]/[insert character texture here]

    The Wii will then read the texture off of the SD Card and load it when you choose the color it replaces (make sure to wait until it is done beeping/loading when you pick the color) and then start game and WA LA! Texture.

    @FireKirby7: Yes. Except, you need it to be in the following folder directory above ^.
     
  31. Adetque

    Adetque
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    I tried this with 2 different texture hacks on stack smash (the Diddy one and Citrus Kirby), and neither of them worked. All the codes did was increase the loading time. I did everything exactly as you said to. Help?
     
  32. jokey665

    jokey665
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I played around with it a bunch more, and got all the textures I couldn't get working before to work. You HAVE to let it finish loading before you leave the character select screen or else it just gives you the regular color. Oh, and the texture I was using for wolf still froze the Wii every time I tried it, and once when the computer random'd it. -_-
     
  33. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Are you letting the color load? PW specifically says to let it load before pressing start.
     
  34. Teronist09

    Teronist09
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Greenville NC
    i never thought i'd see this day,...
     
  35. FireKirby7

    FireKirby7
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Alright, that sounds easy enough. :)
    So after I get a texture inside the game using the codes, will the texture permenantly stay in there?
    Also is it safe if I put more than one .pcs file in the private/wii/app/RSBE/pf/fighter/insert character here folder at once? I want to do this now. XD
     
  36. Adetque

    Adetque
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    How long until it loads?
     
  37. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    They are not permanent, only when you load them through Gecko OS as the Wii reads them from the SD Card. It should be safe to put more than one texture, just make sure it is for a different color of the character.

    Until you hear it stop beeping/loading sounds. PW is planning on fixing this issue though.
     
  38. Adetque

    Adetque
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    There was no beeping or loading sounds.
     
  39. Revven

    Revven
    Expand Collapse
    FrankerZ

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Then I don't know, try some other textures or maybe your directory is wrong. I haven't used the codes myself yet.
     
  40. FireKirby7

    FireKirby7
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    At the bolded. How can I ensure that? Like how can I tell if texture 1 goes in original texure 1 and if texture 2 goes in original texture 2.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?