• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Octave's Pika (Critique)

Octave

Smash Ace
Well, I'm totally new to Pikachu but with a little knowledge of the game already I feel like I'm on a fast track to getting much better. Here's the video I took last night. Make sure you read the info on the side if you hate the noise of clicking buttons.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bJUNzFz6pQ

I'm open to criticism and advice, here. I got Falcons to beat, y'know.

N64

Smash Champion
The main thing you need to work on is being more mobile. Practice dash dancing for a bit, then dash dancing into aerials, etc. Just get used to moving around a lot, pika is good at it and it makes things more difficult for your opponent.

You seem kinda new to competative smash, which is cool to see. Practice some 'basic' techniques, like dash dancing and jc usmash/grabbing. I advice watching Wak's 'Advanced How To Play' vids on youtube if you haven't already.

Those are the main things I see atm.

Octave

Smash Ace
Yeah, I would say I'm fairly new. Not 100% up on the abbreviations yet, either

I've watched the vids before but I will again. Also, any tips on shorthopping with Pika? I feel like I really have to barely tap X and I find that sometimes I'm trying to tap so lightly I don't even press the button. Also, should i be sweetspotting the ledge on a quick attack recovery every time? I can barely do it once :[

Thanks for the reply. I'll probably practice for about a week and then post my progress or something.

INSANE CARZY GUY

Banned via Warnings
Once your used to up-B it will be easy more so for pikachu than pichu because pf your retartedly big sweetspot compared to pichu.

Here is some easy ways to get better