• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Crazy Hand v1.31 - Character editing program

Gun.Rugger

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
26
I have been messing with crazy hand and have successfully gotten the self healing sub-action to work (used it for Young Link's taunt)
Now I am trying to get Mario's taunt to give him a power mushroom. So far using the Custom Subaction Event - Projectile/Item Spawn I can give my opponent the mushroom effect (which is pretty hilarious) even when using the "launch projectile". It makes a mushroom, I grab that mushroom, and the opponent gets buffed haha.

For science I am trying to use the code posted by @Tater (in this thread: https://smashboards.com/threads/cus...ectile-item-spawn.427019/page-2#post-21673989) to activate the metal effect (I figure that will get me one step closer to the desired effect). Following this logic, I have put the following codes in as subaction data:
80 0C 83 48 - The function used to apply metal to a character. (Found thanks to wParam's notes: http://wparam.com/ssbm/notes.html)
80 0D 10 5C - The function that applies metal physics to a character. (Once again, found with wParam's notes.)

I have tried putting the values into crazy hand like so:
http://imgur.com/3FsYRwR
I have tried using the hex editor, clearing out the attack data and putting only the code in like so:
http://imgur.com/JZNz38m
I have tried using the converter in the Melee Code Manager, but I don't really know what I'm doing, and I presume that that converter is used for making gecko codes out of memory addresses somehow. Not confirmed. Any help on this would be rad.
 

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
So I was curious if anyone has found the values for Link and Y. Link's grappling hooks in their grabs and zair like we have with Samus? This would be most useful to have.

Samus has the values under the Character Specific Attributes for when the article (her grapple) is created, when it ends, and when it is retracted. Looking for the same with hookshots.

Or where they can be found in the Pixx.dat files. Including Samus's

Edit: Found them:

Link:
Standing Grapple: 3604
Dashing Grapple: 3614
Zair: 3624

Y. Link:
Standing Grapple: 37A8
Dashing Grapple: 37B8
Zair: 37C8

Samus:
Standing: 36A4
Dashing: 36B4
Zair: 36C4

Link:

Stand:
Hookshot Appears (7)
Chain shoots (10)
Retracts (51)
Disappears (79)

Dash:
Hookshot appears (7)
Chain Shoots (11)
Retracts (63)
Disappears (88)

Z air:
Hookshot appears (5)
Chain Shoots (10)
Retracts (47)
Disappears (58)

Y. Link

Stand:
Appears (7)
Shoots (10)
Retracts (55)
Disappears (79)

Dash:
Appears (7)
Shoots (13)
Retracts (55)
Disappears (88)

Z air:
Appears (5)
Shoots (10)
Retracts (47)
Disappears (58)

Samus:
Stand:
Grapple Appears (7)
Chain shoots (17)
Retracts (75)
Disappears (93)

Dash:
Grapple appears (7)
Chain Shoots (17)
Retracts (40)
Disappears (64)

Z air:
Grapple appears (1)
Chain Shoots (7)
Retracts (40)
Disappears (58)

They appear as four lines such as this:
Samus Zair:
00 00 00 01 00 00 00 07 00 00 00 28 00 00 00 3A

How do you use this on Mac?
It's java, so I don't have an issue. With some of the programs you can use Wine though.

How can you let Zelda act out of side b? I tried looking at SD remix, but I couldnt see any differences in the move logic. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
You mean once the move is over? Change the landing lag under the specific character attributes to 0 and she will enter normal fall.


Incidentally, has anyone figured out how to make Mewtwo's side B reflect like all the other reflectors?
 
Last edited:

Gun.Rugger

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
26
I cannot help you with your problem, when I use the Young Link heal event, my game freezes right after picking a stage. I don't know how to fix it D:
Have you enabled heal event in Melee Code Manager? Can I see a screenshot of the master hand subaction you are editing? May I see a screenshot of the error and your Melee Code Manager Enabled code?
 

GoldMario777

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
6
Quick question: how can I fix G&W's lack of L-cancel? I looked everywhere on the forum but I couldn't find the answer...
 

nickisneato

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
15
So I don't know if this has been asked before (probably not), but every time I try to replace a subaction, like a Rumble, with an Unknown, it removes that Rumble and all of the subactions underneath it. Any idea why this is happening and how to fix it?
 

GoldMario777

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
6
A simple trick is to move the subaction event at the bottom of the list, change it, then move it back up to where it was.
Note that switching a subaction event to Unknown will make CH think that's the end of the subaction (because it writes 00 00 00 00 wich means "empty"), and hide everything underneath.
 
Last edited:

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
Quick question: how can I fix G&W's lack of L-cancel? I looked everywhere on the forum but I couldn't find the answer...
Replace these Offsets in Start.dol

GW L Cancels
At offset 0x1486DC, replace 3880015E with 38800041
At offset 0x1486E8, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1486EC, replace C02501F8 with C0230258
At offset 0x1486F0, replace 4BF41BF9 with 4BF41AED
At offset 0x1487C4, replace 3880015F with 38800043
At offset 0x1487D0, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1487D4, replace C0250200 with C0230260
At offset 0x1487D8, replace 4BF41B11 with 4BF41A05
At offset 0x1488AC, replace 38800160 with 38800044
At offset 0x1488B8, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1488BC, replace C0250200 with C0230264
At offset 0x1488C0, replace 4BF41A29 with 4BF4191D
 
Last edited:

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
I have adjusted a few B moves and want to ensure that Kirby has access to the same. I have been able to make certain ones land cancelable, recover faster, and go into normal fall, but I am attempting to change some of the attributes as they are shown under the main characters in Crazy Hand as well as projectile damages. Does anyone have a list of the Offsets?
 

GoldMario777

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
6
Replace these Offsets in Start.dol

GW L Cancels
At offset 0x1486DC, replace 3880015E with 38800041
At offset 0x1486E8, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1486EC, replace C02501F8 with C0230258
At offset 0x1486F0, replace 4BF41BF9 with 4BF41AED
At offset 0x1487C4, replace 3880015F with 38800043
At offset 0x1487D0, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1487D4, replace C0250200 with C0230260
At offset 0x1487D8, replace 4BF41B11 with 4BF41A05
At offset 0x1488AC, replace 38800160 with 38800044
At offset 0x1488B8, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1488BC, replace C0250200 with C0230264
At offset 0x1488C0, replace 4BF41A29 with 4BF4191D
Thank you it worked! :kirby2:
 

nickisneato

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
15
A simple trick is to move the subaction event at the bottom of the list, change it, then move it back up to where it was.
Note that switching a subaction event to Unknown will make CH think that's the end of the subaction (because it writes 00 00 00 00 wich means "empty"), and hide everything underneath.
I tried to do this just now, but the new unknown subaction completely disappeared! I'm really not sure why this is happening...
 

nickisneato

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
15
Is the new action you are typing in larger than the 4 bytes allocated for Rumble?
It shouldn't be; the unknown subaction in Crazy Hand is only 4 bytes. I tried replacing it with larger subactions, like 12 and 20 bytes, and it did the same thing. It didn't even show the Self-Damage placeholder actions.
 

tittyskittles2112

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Messages
2
For some reason I can't reach the move logic tab with Mario selected. Other characters work fine. I've tested it with both a modified iso and a vanilla melee iso. Is this a bug?

Edit: Nvm, seems that someone else earlier in the thread was having the same issue. I guess I'll just use a hex editor for now.
 
Last edited:

Yakult

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
64
It shouldn't be; the unknown subaction in Crazy Hand is only 4 bytes. I tried replacing it with larger subactions, like 12 and 20 bytes, and it did the same thing. It didn't even show the Self-Damage placeholder actions.
if you just type the byte of code you want in the space for the rumble command crazyhand will automatically change it to unknown (if it doesnt know what it is) and wont cut the subaction short
 

maxics

Smash Rookie
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
11
Location
Chantilly, Virginia
Replace these Offsets in Start.dol

GW L Cancels
At offset 0x1486DC, replace 3880015E with 38800041
At offset 0x1486E8, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1486EC, replace C02501F8 with C0230258
At offset 0x1486F0, replace 4BF41BF9 with 4BF41AED
At offset 0x1487C4, replace 3880015F with 38800043
At offset 0x1487D0, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1487D4, replace C0250200 with C0230260
At offset 0x1487D8, replace 4BF41B11 with 4BF41A05
At offset 0x1488AC, replace 38800160 with 38800044
At offset 0x1488B8, replace 80A3002C with 90830070
At offset 0x1488BC, replace C0250200 with C0230264
At offset 0x1488C0, replace 4BF41A29 with 4BF4191D
I don't understand this, where is start.dol? (Sorry I just started playing with CrazyHand)
 

DRGN

Technowizard
Moderator
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
2,178
Location
Sacramento, CA
I don't understand this, where is start.dol? (Sorry I just started playing with CrazyHand)
Start.dol is a file in the ISO. Crazy Hand primarily works with the character files also in the ISO. Do you have GC Rebuilder?
There is a much easier method than all of that. Also, I don't recommend sharing/editing codes as just offset locations like that unless you're keeping strict notes on what you're editing. Otherwise anyone who installs them could run into conflicts between mods without knowing it. The more mods you add, and especially if you use injection mods, where you need to determine safe and unused areas in the DOL to store parts of the code (where different people might have written codes using the same space, if you use that method), the more this chance increases. That L-cancel code is in the library of the Melee Code Manager by default, and this kind of stuff is exactly what the program is for anyway, so you don't have to worry about a lot of the complicated stuff.

Edit: Also, GCR is outdated. lol
 
Last edited:

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
There is a much easier method than all of that. Also, I don't recommend sharing/editing codes as just offset locations like that unless you're keeping strict notes on what you've editing. Otherwise anyone who installs them could run into conflicts between mods without knowing it. The more mods you add, and especially if you use injection mods, where you need to determine safe and unused areas in the DOL to store parts of the code (where different people might have written codes using the same space, if you use that method), the more this chance increases. That L-cancel code is in the library of the Melee Code Manager by default, and this kind of stuff is exactly what the program is for anyway, so you don't have to worry about a lot of the complicated stuff.

Edit: Also, GCR is outdated. lol
I still use GCR for some things. What is the better solution?
 

Stormghetti

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
400
Location
Europe
Slippi.gg
STRM#798
NNID
Stormghetti
This probably has been answered already, but how do I edit hurtboxes?
 

DRGN

Technowizard
Moderator
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
2,178
Location
Sacramento, CA
I use that. It can rebuild ISOs and pull files in and out?
Yes.
upload_2017-3-26_14-50-20.png


The "Disc File Tree" (circled in green) is for managing discs. The "Export" and "Import" buttons (circled in red) are used to export and import files.

And yeah, the program will automatically rebuild the disc for you if it's needed; there are no manual steps like with GCR. This feature has existed for quite some time, but few have noticed, it seems, lol.
 

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
Yes.
View attachment 127321

The "Disc File Tree" (circled in green) is for managing discs. The "Export" and "Import" buttons (circled in red) are used to export and import files.

And yeah, the program will automatically rebuild the disc for you if it's needed; there are no manual steps like with GCR. This feature has existed for quite some time, but few have noticed, it seems, lol.
Cool deal. I'll play with it. I do tend to lose my FSMs when I rebuild though...
 

Sporkyz

Smash Rookie
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
7
Hey, I've been messing around, but I've noticed that when I edit the projectile for Pikachu and Pichu's thunderjolt, the changes do not apply to the grounded version (after the projectile touches the ground). Does anybody know how to mod the grounded version? Thanks in advance :)
 

Yaruzu

Smash Cadet
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
27
Location
Ontario, Canada
So I'm not sure how to use the Move Logic tab properly. I assume that each field is for the attribute of each move, so how do I tell what is which move (or at least how do I tell what is what)?

If you need context I am trying to edit moves to be jump cancelable, and I did ask someone about it and they said this:
move logic tab
iasa function
JC ground moves = 800CAED0
JC air moves = 800CB870

My problem is I don't know what I am editing since, for example, the first field that pops up for Falcon is Swing42(0x127).
 

GoldMario777

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
6
So I'm not sure how to use the Move Logic tab properly. I assume that each field is for the attribute of each move, so how do I tell what is which move (or at least how do I tell what is what)?

If you need context I am trying to edit moves to be jump cancelable, and I did ask someone about it and they said this:
move logic tab
iasa function
JC ground moves = 800CAED0
JC air moves = 800CB870

My problem is I don't know what I am editing since, for example, the first field that pops up for Falcon is Swing42(0x127).
Okay, since you're not the only one having trouble with the subaction names, I will put here the most edited of them, and the move they correspond to.

Names that start with "Attack" correspond to A moves.
Names that start with "Special" correspond to B moves.
Names that start with "Escape" correspond to spotdodge, rolls, and airdodge.
Names that start with "Landing" correspond to a landing animation, the landing lag of aerials for example.

There's a letter at the end of some names:
N = Neutral
F = Forward
B = Back
L = Left
R = Right
Hi = High
S = Side
Lw = Low

And for attacks:
11 = Jab 1
12 = Jab 2
13 = Jab 3
100 = Infinite jab
Dash = Dash attack
3 = Tilt
4 = Smash
Air = Aerial

And finally:
Catch(Dash) = (Dash)Grab
CatchAttack = Pummel
Throw = Throw (bruh)
Appeal = Taunt
 

Yakult

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
64
So I'm not sure how to use the Move Logic tab properly. I assume that each field is for the attribute of each move, so how do I tell what is which move (or at least how do I tell what is what)?

If you need context I am trying to edit moves to be jump cancelable, and I did ask someone about it and they said this:
move logic tab
iasa function
JC ground moves = 800CAED0
JC air moves = 800CB870

My problem is I don't know what I am editing since, for example, the first field that pops up for Falcon is Swing42(0x127).
move logic in crazyhand is just for a character's special moves, with a few exceptions. 'swing' refers to when a character uses a hold item like the baseball bat, fan, star rod or beam sword which the character swings. the number or word after 'swing' denotes the different items and moves. the reason falcon has these in his move logic is because unlike other characters he can do a followup swing from his side smash when holding these items by pressing a.

unless you play with items the only 'swing' for falcon that could come up in a game is the beam sword swing if peach pulled a beam sword and falcon caught it, so you could just leave the swing moves be. you wont be able to make any other characters' swings be jump cancelable through crazyhand anyway i think so maybe just ignore falcon's swings and follow what GoldMario777 GoldMario777 said for the specials
 
Last edited:

AAAAAA

Smash Cadet
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
49
Does anyone know what makes Young Links and Links Dair Bounce when they hit? is it an action physics function?
 

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
This is what I see under Link in Character Specific Actions. This means that they is one for Y. Link as well in his file. Likely similar values to help you find them.

What I did to find such things is to take a Vanilla ISO and change only those items in Link, then compare the two files to find out what they look like and what they change to. Then try to look at the same things in Y. Link's .dat.

Link:
Bounce Height: 35CC: 3F AA 3D 71 (1.333)
Frames until hitbox comes back: 35D0: 41 F0 00 00 (30)

35CC: 3F AA 3D 71 > 40 A0 00 00 (5)
35D0: 41 F0 00 00 > 42 48 00 00 (50)

Examples of what they look like when changed.


Y. Link:
Bounce Height: 3770: 3F AA 3D 71
Frames until hitbox comes back: 3774: 41 F0 00 00


Link changed to a bounce height of 5 is pretty funny. I hit Bowser on FD standing on the ground and flew upwards into the magnifying glass.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
So I was thinking, I am unable to make wind boxes in Crazy Hand due to the fact that any hit, even ones without element, put the opponent into a knockdown state or do a form of hitstun, with the exception of the Cape effect. From that point I realized that Blastoise's water works like a windbox would. Does anyone know how that is coded?
 

GoldMario777

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
6
So I was thinking, I am unable to make wind boxes in Crazy Hand due to the fact that any hit, even ones without element, put the opponent into a knockdown state or do a form of hitstun, with the exception of the Cape effect. From that point I realized that Blastoise's water works like a windbox would. Does anyone know how that is coded?
As far as I know, windboxes don't exist in Melee, they first appeared in Brawl.
Blastoise's water deals little knockback so it looks like a windbox. I you look carefully you can see characters suffer hitstun.
And Whispy Woods uses coding magic.
 

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
As far as I know, windboxes don't exist in Melee, they first appeared in Brawl.
Blastoise's water deals little knockback so it looks like a windbox. I you look carefully you can see characters suffer hitstun.
And Whispy Woods uses coding magic.
When I have coded knockback (short of tumble) without a graphic effect it has still has hitstun like Falco's lasers. If I recall, Blastoise's water does not take it's target out of special fall
 
Last edited:

Middle Mang

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
28
Not sure if this has been answered before, but can you add a sword trail or something similar to a normal attack? I just noticed Bowser's forward air could look a lot better with a similar GFX.
 

The Cape

Smash Master
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
4,478
Location
Carlisle, PA
Not sure if this has been answered before, but can you add a sword trail or something similar to a normal attack? I just noticed Bowser's forward air could look a lot better with a similar GFX.
Likely you could. Use the sword trail graphic at the right timing on the move. Someone talked about this earlier in the thread. If you can find something nice for it, I would be interested in seeing it.

https://smashboards.com/threads/sword-trail-experiments.446142/
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom