• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Best Programming Language for Absolute Beginner?

Cloud XV

Smash Cadet
I was just in the same boat you are in, I started learning C# and it is a very user friendly programming language to learn. I got about 1/3rd trough the language and then figured out I was actually gonna be taking C++ in college so I switched.

But I would recommend C# for a beginner language.
Heres a wiki book on it.
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/C_Sharp_Programming

Super_ness

Smash Journeyman
Whoops. So java, C, or C#.

Well, for you guys to help, I guess I need to tell you what I wanna do. Well, I really just want to get a grasp on how computers work, in general. Also, I run Windows XP, in case that helps.

EDIT: I've heard good and bad things about python, and terrible things about C for beginners, so swap those two.

Dastrn

BRoomer
BRoomer
C++ or C# are both excellent options, although it really doesn't hurt to do something far more basic while you familiarize yourself with how programming actually works. Once you learn the basic logic, you can apply the ideas to almost any language once you learn the syntax, and you are well on your way.

I started programming way back in QBasic, GW-Basic, and learned the easy way how to use different types of loops, arrays, variables, etc. These are some of the very basic building blocks of programming.