• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

The Big PSA List thread *updated 02/16/10*

Wind Owl

Smash Lord
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
1,856
Location
Suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
No problem, sorry. It's just that SmashWiki is a lot more mainstream...

EDIT: Ugh. I was going to move the whole thing over, but you don't even have basic things like the Wikitable class installed...
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
Wind Owl, I can fix that later if you like

I think I want to change OpenSA to pull all the descriptions for all the events from an online source.
I'm fine with you guys putting the Event list on SmashWiki, but all the internal stuff about the moveset files is something I really want to work on writing up properly, to enable someone else to make a moveset editor later in time, especially since PW doesn't appear to be working on PSA anymore.
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
Untested, but I think 000B0X00 where X is 1,2,3,4 is an OR() function.

Its most common utility is in fighter.pac after an If Statement, and if you look at 0xDEAC which is the area involved in item picking up, the requirements are laid out pretty clearly that its likely an OR statement
Confirmed, meaning the Else If: definition given in the OP is incorrect
 

leafgreen386

Dirty camper
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,577
Location
Playing melee and smash ultimate
K. I just did some testing, and found some interesting results. (What, leaf did testing? Since when does he do that?) Anyway, here's what I found for IC Basics 20000-20005:

20k: current subaction
20k1: current action
20k2: ??? (see below)
20k3: seems to be previous action
20k4: pretty sure this one is always the value that correlates to the specific interrupt ID for whatever you're doing
20k5: ?!?!?! (see below)

For testing, what I did was place a graphic (external graphic 19 from the common file, if you're wondering... it was a very explosion-y experience) at the beginning of most relevant subactions that was of size equal to the IC-basic in question. Then I just played around with it in the game to see what I could observe (I used samus for the tests).

Now... for 20k2, most values seem fairly small (I think the largest is like 5 or something), but I can't really figure out the pattern. Most things you do on the ground (dashing, crouching, attacking, etc) appear to be size 2, but grabs, throws, and landing (regular landlag, aerial attack landlag, or special landlag) all seem to be size 1, while jumping seems to be size 3 and specials are size 4 (maybe... I didn't spend too long trying to figure out if the jump and special were different sizes, but I'm pretty sure they were). Something like that, anyway. Tough to tell on some of this... in the air, everything seems to be of the larger variety... I think there were two different sizes that I observed, meaning they'd be either 3 and 4, or 4 and 5. It's tough to say what this one is, really.

But 20k5... is just crazy. It's normally 1. Until you press something. Anything. Control stick. A button. Anything. Then... IT BECOMES HUGE. Like... the only way you could tell the graphic was supposed to be an explosion was the redish tint of the flash, which was actually more apparent in the background than the foreground. Needless to say, these values were sufficiently large that it was impossible to tell if there was any difference between them. I assume that there is some difference... since it doesn't really make sense to switch between 1 and a very large number... unless maybe if that very large number was FFFFFFFF, but even then, if it's just two values you'd think it would switch between 0 and 1. So there probably is some difference between the very large numbers, but until someone with a gecko gets in there, we won't be able to figure it out.

Well, actually, I can think of a way to test this... I'm just not going to. What you'd do is set RA-float[pickanumber] equal to IC-basic[20005], subtract a very large number from RA-float[pickanumber], then use RA-float[pickanumber] for the size of the graphic. But since dant is gonna be looking at IC-basics with gecko soon using this as a starting point, it'd prob just be best to leave it to him. Speaking of which, this is also the reason I won't be updating the OP with this info, since dant will probably be able to get much more complete information. Just thought I'd share with those interested =)
 

shanus

Smash Hero
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
6,055
20009 is also used in fighter.pac

In action 4D, 20003 is used, and is set to when it equals 134 :-O

We need to figure out the values these take on.


I don't think these tests are the true meaning of these vars. For instance, 20001 is used in fighter.pac a lot, mainly in the CHK_Exit grab/guard areas. They have values around 72 - 131, and I think it's the frame count the move is currently at.

For instance, grapple an edge. how many frames can stay grapples on before it falls? I'm thinking it might be around 131.



Also:
More weirdness: For glide attack, If LA-Basic[1] (current number of jumps) < IC-Basic 23003, change action Fall at animation end, else change action special fall. So it also seems to be the capped number of jumps you have, too.

IC-Basic[23003] = max jumps? Maybe its where the attribute is located?
 

leafgreen386

Dirty camper
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,577
Location
Playing melee and smash ultimate
20009 is also used in fighter.pac

In action 4D, 20003 is used, and is set to when it equals 134 :-O

We need to figure out the values these take on.


I don't think these tests are the true meaning of these vars. For instance, 20001 is used in fighter.pac a lot, mainly in the CHK_Exit grab/guard areas. They have values around 72 - 131, and I think it's the frame count the move is currently at.

For instance, grapple an edge. how many frames can stay grapples on before it falls? I'm thinking it might be around 131.
Well, 20k1 seemed to match up perfectly with the action ID of whatever I was doing when I tested. It only appeared when the action ID changed, and larger action IDs gave bigger graphics (similarly, 20k appeared whenever the subaction changed, and was a size appropriate for whatever subaction I was in). There's no way it could be current frame count, otherwise everything would've given a graphic of size 1.

Still... there aren't any actions in the 130s, so that's kinda strange.
 

shanus

Smash Hero
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
6,055
Well, 20k1 seemed to match up perfectly with the action ID of whatever I was doing when I tested. It only appeared when the action ID changed, and larger action IDs gave bigger graphics (similarly, 20k appeared whenever the subaction changed, and was a size appropriate for whatever subaction I was in). There's no way it could be current frame count, otherwise everything would've given a graphic of size 1.

Still... there aren't any actions in the 130s, so that's kinda strange.
There are many more situations listed for it in fighter.pac with seemingly random numbers. I looked to see if there was any method to the madness in looking at them as scalar, values, etc, and saw nothing. The fact of the matter that the way a tether released from a grappled edge at a specific time which is solely determined by the IC-Basic variable still leads me to think its tied into timing somehow.
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
Huge update. Went from the literal first page of this thread to the last, catching everything left out. This is VERY updated. :p

I still need to learn the fancy stuff with EventSyntax... but you know... I got the jist of it I guess... Enough to make this pack of texts. :p

Note: I put in some unconfirmed things with ? at the end. If you prove or disprove them I will take the proper action when needed.

http://www.mediafire.com/?yzxnwy5vyk5
 

.Fade

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
345
OK, guys, we got some stuff up and running on Dantarion's Wiki. So far only Subactions and Variables are ready to be added to, but please add to them!
PSA Documentation Project
If you want, use this for the subaction list.

Animation Collab

Huge update. Went from the literal first page of this thread to the last, catching everything left out. This is VERY updated. :p

I still need to learn the fancy stuff with EventSyntax... but you know... I got the jist of it I guess... Enough to make this pack of texts. :p

Note: I put in some unconfirmed things with ? at the end. If you prove or disprove them I will take the proper action when needed.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4831375/PSA Texts.rar
Weird...download link isn't working for me. Could you load it to Mediafire or something? =)
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
I'm planning on making an Events, Parameters, and EventSyntax update soon, just a heads-up. Due to doing it at 5 AM, I left out a lot.
 

Wind Owl

Smash Lord
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
1,856
Location
Suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
OK, finally finished the parser for Events.txt and Parameters.txt. This means I can freely convert from one to the other, so please make changes to the wiki instead of the .txt's. I'll upload the parser to the wiki soon, and after that anyone can convert.

Still writing one for the other .txt's, but for now...
BEHOLD

LOL 666th post
 

.Fade

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
345
OK, finally finished the parser for Events.txt and Parameters.txt. This means I can freely convert from one to the other, so please make changes to the wiki instead of the .txt's. I'll upload the parser to the wiki soon, and after that anyone can convert.

Still writing one for the other .txt's, but for now...
BEHOLD

LOL 666th post
Good stuff. Added sword glow parameters to the list.
 

Wind Owl

Smash Lord
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
1,856
Location
Suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
OK, I added basically everything in the text files (except Attributes: could anyone let me know what the syntax is for that file?), but we still need a lot of work on some of the other pages, like Variables. So if anyone has some time on their hands (or would happen to want to use the information :laugh:), check out the project page.
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
Attributes? Each new line is a new one. Simple. And the number afterwards... I'm not sure.
 

ChuteTheMessenger

Village's Strongest Hitman
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
288
OK, finally finished the parser for Events.txt and Parameters.txt. This means I can freely convert from one to the other, so please make changes to the wiki instead of the .txt's. I'll upload the parser to the wiki soon, and after that anyone can convert.

Still writing one for the other .txt's, but for now...
BEHOLD

LOL 666th post
Your wiki is...beautiful.
I'm going to go help fill out some of the parameters later.

I see you're going to do a page on gfx. That would be immensely helpful, especially if it had a little picture of the graphic to the side. But I suspect this is you plan already?
 

Wind Owl

Smash Lord
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
1,856
Location
Suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
Actually, that's a great idea, just extremely time consuming, lol.

Also, about the parameters, some of the entries didn't get parsed for some reason when I added the rest. I'll fill those in today.
 

Wind Owl

Smash Lord
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
1,856
Location
Suburbs of Philadelphia, PA
That Youtube video is awful quality. It would be much more worth it to just leave it blank until someone captures them all in a uniform and isolated (white or black backdrop, nothing else on the screen) manner using Brawl snapshots.
 

standardtoaster

Tubacabra
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Messages
9,253
Location
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Then if that's the case, if you can wait about an hour and a half I can start working on it using snapshots instead of screencaps. If I don't get interrupted during the process, I think it should take me about two hours.
 

AMKalmar

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
887
Location
Hamilton ON CA
I have a much better video prepared in a replay, I just don't have a good way to record it. Anyone got s-video cables and a capture card?
 
Top Bottom