1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash stuff and support the site, like a Nintendo Controller or the Wii U - Gamecube adaptor ! Check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

The 20XX Melee Training Hack Pack (v4.07 - 7/04/17)

Discussion in 'Melee Workshop' started by Achilles1515, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. Fizzi

    Fizzi
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    Montreal, QC/Jacksonville, FL
    I got this to work using the new unofficial guide you posted. Thanks for that.

    Question, is there any way to like clear all applied codes? Or at least make the P2 CPU do something different if you've already set it to something? I set a CPU to do the shield/jump oos and then I couldn't seem to get him to shoot lasers without completely restarting the Wii.

    Edit: Hmmm.. it might be just because the laser code doesn't seem to be working.
    Edit2: Seems to be working better with P4 falco when on FD for some reason. Either way, it works, I'm happy. Awesome work dude :).
     
    #161 Fizzi, Apr 13, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014
  2. Alulim

    Alulim
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Once again, awesome job Achilles. To just make a suggestion regarding the randomized CPU teching that is soon to come: If possible, could you get the CPU to buffer a shine when the CPU is a space animal? This is because shine is invincible on frame 1 and will hit if you're the slightest bit off with your grab (versus spot dodging which is invincible on frame 3 to 4 based on the character). Thanks again!
     
  3. ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡

    ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡
    Expand Collapse
    Anti-Illuminati

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,862
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Is it possible to fuse Gecko codes straight to the .dol-file of Melee? I would like to compile a Melee ISO with these great codes. Apparently a lot of people have had issues trying to get Gecko Codes work as the amount of requests I've received has been relatively significant. Perhaps a guide on how to get these codes would be in place.

    Thank you for the guide
     
    #163 ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡, Apr 13, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014
  4. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Again, I have,personally, never had success with Gecko OS. I recommend booting it from an SD card.

    Glad to know you got it working. Yeah, if you are using P2 as the CPU to spam projectiles, you need to make sure you turn off (same button combination, at same screen) the code for making them hold shield, before you try to do the projectile one. Otherwise, the hold shield codes will take precedence. I'm sure you tried this, but it's probably just the D-Pad being unresponsive.

    And anyway, I'm about to release new codes (hopefully tomorrow!), that alleviate this problem and allow toggling of these things midgame instead of at the character select screen! Stay tuned...
     
    #164 Achilles1515, Apr 13, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014
  5. ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡

    ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡
    Expand Collapse
    Anti-Illuminati

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,862
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    I just finished 3 hour Skype session with a fellow Smasher trying to get these codes to work. The bad news are the good news, apparently there are a LOT of people who want to get these codes to work and they have NEVER even hacked their wii to begin with which is a bit of a problem because Wii hacking (for n00bs like me) is often a tedious and tiring process.

    To the OP, please upload your Gecko codes to the WiiRD Database. This allows Mac Users Like me use your codes because simply have no access to Ocarina Code Manager. We can access these codes using a program called WiiCM which accesses the GALE01.txt file on SD card and converts the file to proper .gct-format which (presumably) allows the codes to be run via Gecko OS (which should be extremely simple, Gecko OS is awesome). References:

    https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081223203933AAPBqYE
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wiicm#Txt_Code_File_Formating

    E:

    The easiest solution would be simply to make a 20XX-ISO provided that there's an easy way to implement the Gecko codes to .dol.

    (Btw I downloaded another application called "Gecko Code Manager" which I managed to get to run on my Mac using Winebottler. But the program still doesn't work. tl:dr the struggle is real :D)

    Anyways, I will write a guide on how to get these codes to work from the scratch for people starting with a unmodded Wii. There's a real demand for these codes, I've been part of the Smash community for a while and I've never seen anything quite like this ^_^

    I would hope that the OP would respond to my PM regarding the question whether or not it is possible to write these codes straight to the .dol-file of SSBM.iso which would allow me to distribute premodded ISOs for people's convenience.
     
    #165 ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  6. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Novi,
    Thanks for helping others with their problems on this topic. I really do appreciate it. I have had my Wii hacked since 2010 or so, and because of such, I sort of forgot the exact process on how to hack it correctly , etc. If you want to write a guide up on it, that would be great! My girlfriend's housemates have a nonhacked Wii and I'm debating on hacking theirs from scratch so that I will know the exact steps to take. I kind of walked my friend through it a few days ago, so I might already know all the steps (after having the homebrew channel installed). If you haven't already seen it, check out the "Unofficial Guide" I recently posted for hacking your Wii to get the codes to work. It's on the bottom of the original post. Were these the steps you were going through with him?

    I don't think I can post the codes on the WiiRD Database at the moment - the forums seem to be down. I guess I'm a little confused as to why you need them on there, though. I have an updated GALE01.txt file on the original post - can you just use that?

    And I answered your question about adding these to the DOL file here (unless there is something else you wanted from me on this topic)
     
    #166 Achilles1515, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
    ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡ likes this.
  7. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Also, I just recently tried out using CFG Loader to load the game with codes enabled. The awesome thing about this program is that you do not need to make your own .gct (which solves issues for Mac users). All you need to do is have the .txt file on your SD card. CFG Loader will recognize the .txt and show all the codes on it allowing you to check which ones you want to apply, and then it will automatically make a .gct and place it in the correct location for you. It is VERY convenient.

    If you do it this way, you

    See this post for more information (post #6 from this thread, from nqztv)
     
    #167 Achilles1515, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  8. Kou

    Kou
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Japan
    I decreased applied cheats, so your cheats worked!!!

    gct file made of 176 lines codes -> Worked!!
    gct file made of 182 lines codes -> Didn't work...
    gct file made of 186 lines codes -> Didn't work...
    gct file made of 190 lines codes -> Didn't work...
    gct file made of 200 lines codes -> Didn't work...

    I thought the maximum line of codes to apply correctly is 256 line,
    but it doesn't seem to be 256...

    some of your cheat especially long cheats need to port to dol mod to use all your training cheat, I think...
    Or are there how to use 180+ lines code?
    I think we can apply too long cheat codes in SSBB.
     
    #168 Kou, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  9. Fizzi

    Fizzi
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    Montreal, QC/Jacksonville, FL
    I know this stuff has been mentioned before but the most revolutionary codes at this point would be:

    1) Randomized teching.
    2) Randomized DI.
    3) Damage percent freeze (similar to shield freeze) as well as the removal of diminishing returns.

    Three is mostly for use with number two. For example, you get a puff to a specific percent, freeze the percent, then practice up-throw uair given randomized DI.
     
    #169 Fizzi, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  10. SonuvaBeach

    SonuvaBeach
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Howell, MI
    As a sheik player my biggest needs and problemshave been a way to practice tech-chasing on Falcon/Fox/Falco where they randomly DI the throw, randomly tech the throw, randomly miss the tech and randomly mix up their options for SDI when I jab the missed tech.

    That's the big one. Seems like you're already well on your way. Just wanted to say again how much I and everyone else really appreciates what you're doing. Start a fund so maybe you can get compensated and have incentive to do more!
     
    #170 SonuvaBeach, Apr 14, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2014
  11. Mars-

    Mars-
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,530
    Location:
    Chicago area
    So after about 2 hours of trying to get this to work I cannot make it work. I tried to boot with Dios Mios Lite. I turn codes on, boot the game, but none of the codes work. After thinking maybe I didn't follow the directions I wiped my sd card and tried again, but no luck.

    I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, I have the game.iso from running a 1.02 iso through that program you included. I also have the GALE01.gct file in the same folder, which is games/GALE01. If anyone could help it would be much appreciated.
     
  12. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Yeah, I'm not sure exactly what the code line limit is. I am currently working on converting some of these codes to ASM so that they can be injected into the DOL.

    I've got something like number 3 coming in future. And I guess number 2 as well. Keep checking back for updates.

    "that program you included" - Are you talking about Dios-Mios-Booter?

    It sounds like you are doing everything correctly. Try making a .gct with only a few cheats applied (boot to character select screen) and then retry.

    If that still isn't working, try CFG Loader to boot the game. See post #6 on this thread from nqztv for more information on using CFG Loader (which can make .gct files for you)
     
  13. Mars-

    Mars-
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,530
    Location:
    Chicago area
    I couldn't get CFG loader to boot gamecube games. Is there something I need to do for this?

    This is frustrating that I can get the game to work but not the codes. Is it possible when I ran it through that program you linked in your facebook post part that it messes up the codes?
     
    #173 Mars-, Apr 15, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  14. LyeN

    LyeN
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    NorCal Peninsula
    Can we get a code that makes CPU's run instead of walk? I don't think that would be too difficult...hopefully.
     
  15. playa one

    playa one
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Merced, CA
    I tried this procedure, and i got to the wad folder step. I have it downloaded, and in the root of my SD. When i try to install the wad through YAWMM_EN, i get the error: Exception (DSI) occurred!

    just for reference, this is what my SD looks like http://i.imgur.com/rCDOw9q.png

    when trying to run YAWMM_EN it says HW_AHBPROT is disabled. i load IOS 236, which i'm assuming is good. select the WAD location as SD. then i go down to the wad directory, try to select it with A, and i get the error. HELP ME PLSSSS !!!! IM NOOB !!!!!!
     
  16. Qual_

    Qual_
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    France - Strasbourg
    Hello, i have an idea to improve CPU spam code.

    Is it possible to custom CPU spam input code ?

    It could be something like that :

    L+R+Dpad Up

    then the next player 1 input will be the input that the cpu will start repeat

    L+R+Dpad Up again to desactive.

    I dont know if its possible. And if its possible i dont know if there is a way to record more than one input :/
     
  17. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Hmm, interesting. Very interesting. This.....is probably doable and maybe possible to implement in the current system I've set up. Thanks for the idea! I'll keep thinking about it.

    Actually, I can't really do this. The if they are walking, then make them run, but in doing so, I would be turning them into a human. So I would have no idea how to no when to revert them back to a CPU (unless I subtracted their horizontal coordinates and compared it to a specific value or something...another interesting thought....)

    yeah, idk man. That program shouldn't have any affect on the codes. Maybe try a .gct I made from a little bit ago?

    I've never personally used YAWMM so I can't give you specifics on how to use that program. Fizzi posted above saying he got it to work using the unofficial guide I made, so maybe ask him exactly what he did. I would also try a different wad manager (just do some googling) to use to install the DIOS MIOS Lite wad.
     
  18. Mars-

    Mars-
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,530
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Using that gct causes the game to freeze after I press start on the start menu. Maybe I have the wrong version? Wouldn't explain why none of the codes work though. There is the extender still so it's not pal.
     
  19. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Well, that seems to be a good sign - as in its trying to load the codes. And that does sound like a problem you would get if you were had the wrong game version. I should have stated that .gct is for 1.02.

    To find out the version of your Melee ISO, download InternetExplorer's Melee Toolkit and point it to your ISO. It will tell you what version it is.
     
  20. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Btw guys,

    -kind of a general update-

    I have a slew of new codes and stuff that I will be adding to this "hack pack", as soon as I can. And really, pretty much all of the codes currently on the original post will become obselete and will be updated, as I have found better ways to do every one of those actions. My main goals right now are to rewrite the ingame toggle codes into ASM code so that they can all be made into DOL modifications. This will significantly free up the amount of codes lines available for other use. I have a few of them done already.

    I'm really struggling staying focused on anything but Melee hacking at the moment, and other aspects of my life [school] are somewhat suffering. I'm graduating in two weeks so all I need to do is pass these classes... I have a rather obsessive/addictive personality type so when I get an idea of something that I can accomplish, I have a hard time stopping until it's done. It's great from a productivity standpoint but I just get extreme tunnel vision and block out everything else and do whatever I can to justify spending time coding. This is an incredibly busy school week for me (last week of classes --> finals next week) so I really need to stay focused and put Melee on the backburner. It's just so hard when when writing new codes for you guys is 25x more enjoyable than anything I am doing in school.

    /endimaginaryblogpost
     
  21. Mars-

    Mars-
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,530
    Location:
    Chicago area
    -_- 1.00 god damnit aha
     
  22. Mars-

    Mars-
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,530
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Alright got the right version now it's working perfectly. I could have sworn I specifically made sure to get 1.02 when I got the iso for netplay. I guess I didn't.
     
  23. playa one

    playa one
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Merced, CA
    do you bro.

    on a side note, all my codes are now working, minus the boot to versus menu one. allllll good though. firewall smashboards.
     
    pootTheBox likes this.
  24. TerryJ

    TerryJ
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    BEST COAST, WA
    3DS FC:
    1337-1337-1337
    NNID:
    1337-1337-1337
    I (and I'm sure everybody else in the community) sincerely appreciate the amount, and quality of the work that you've contributed but please don't let it interfere with your real life shizz! I don't think the community will mind waiting a couple weeks for more AI hacks seeing as how we've already waited years. Keep up the good work! <3

    On another note, when you first released this set of codes I wasn't able to get them to work at all (or any Gecko codes for that matter), and for some reason my copy of P:M had also stopped working entirely but I got around to just completely re-hacking my Wii and updated all of the Homebrew and cIOS's that I used and that fixed everything.
     
  25. ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡

    ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡
    Expand Collapse
    Anti-Illuminati

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,862
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Dude we love you, take your time and finish school <3
     
    pootTheBox and TerryJ like this.
  26. Tee ay eye

    Tee ay eye
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Hero

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,635
    Location:
    AZ
    i would kill for a code which made CPUs mash jump (esp out of hitstun)

    awesome work, guys :)
     
    Aceflight likes this.
  27. DtJ SmithZzz

    DtJ SmithZzz
    Expand Collapse
    Happy Birthday Kjell

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,882
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Hey I'm just having the issue of when I bypass to stage select with 1 character, and pick a stage, the game immediately ends. Is there a way around this?


    edit: nvm got it, I'm dumb!


    Thank you for these
     
    #187 DtJ SmithZzz, Apr 17, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2014
  28. SonuvaBeach

    SonuvaBeach
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Howell, MI
    Is there a way to make a cpu fox u-throw u-air? It'd be a good way to practice smash DI
     
    ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡ likes this.
  29. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    another good idea.

    another another good idea. I could easily make a code to have the cpu continuously grab and then upthrow when they eventually grab an opponent. The hard part would be getting fox to accurately up-air. I guess I could sort of make it percent specific and have him do his upair in the same place everytime - not the most elegant solution but it would be something

    Were you doing a stock match?
     
    ♡ⓛⓞⓥⓔ♡ likes this.
  30. Metal Gear Salad

    Metal Gear Salad
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Do these codes only work on NTSC 1.02 or will they work universally for PAL too? Great work btw.
     
  31. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    The code descriptions on the first page say what versions are available for each code.
     
    #191 Achilles1515, Apr 18, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2014
  32. Metal Gear Salad

    Metal Gear Salad
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Sorry my question was for the spacie chain grab code you posted on another thread. Is that in the OP too? Am I being blind? Sorry!
     
  33. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Oh, that code should be on page 4. Its 1.02 only for the time being.
     
  34. DtJ SmithZzz

    DtJ SmithZzz
    Expand Collapse
    Happy Birthday Kjell

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,882
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    hahaha yes. It's been a bit since I've practiced Melee alone (Which is what I'm using this for) and I forgot it should be infinite time, but the way to do through name tags allowed you to do with stocks as well. I was just messing up. Thanks for this again though.
     
  35. Chaos Paladin

    Chaos Paladin
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    I'm running Melee 1.02 on Dolphin 4.0-652 on my computer running Windows 7. I cannot get any of these codes to work on dolphin.

    I tried:
    • adding them as AR codes
    • adding them as gecko codes
    • disabling all other codes and running them one at a time
    • using each version of your codes
    but none of that worked. I'm inputting the commands correctly, so I have no idea why they are not working. All of the other Melee AR and gecko codes I've found online work just fine, I'm all out of ideas.

    EDIT: Nevermind I got it, OP has a guide on reddit here.
     
    #195 Chaos Paladin, Apr 20, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
    Achilles1515 likes this.
  36. Kou

    Kou
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Japan
    Achilles, could you make this code apply not only against marth but also against Fox?
    I wanna practice fox's up-throw chaingrab against space animals.
     
    #196 Kou, Apr 21, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  37. Achilles1515

    Achilles1515
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,203
    Location:
    Cincinnati / Columbus OH
    Most certainly. It's pretty much already written. It will be released with a bunch of new stuff soon
     
  38. Kou

    Kou
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Japan
    I'm looking forward to!!!!
     
  39. hectohertz

    hectohertz
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    omg achilles i cannot wait to play with these codes these are too godlike :D

    i would love to use these to practice sheik d-throw -> follow ups against different DI's
     
  40. OverFlow

    OverFlow
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Yoshi's Story
    Hello,

    First of all thank you for making this mod. At this time i am loading melee from a USB drive but i am using CFG loader. I attempted to use this txt file method by making a gale01.txt into the codes folder on my SD card, but for some reason CFG loader never recognizes my text file and none of the codes show up. I have cheats enabled. Am i doing anything wrong do you have any more specific instructions for this method?

    THANKS!!
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 4)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?