• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Model Replacing - Still Need Someone Who Can Code ~REVIVED~

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Well i am going to training now, so when i get back i expect to have a full pm box ;)

My pm box is almost full atm so just in case if it fills up, just post here and i will pm you.

Better yet, ill just tell ya what i need first.

I need a batch floating point to hex converter (the floating points are stored in a text file). It doesnt matter how the hex values are outputted (by that i mean it could be written in the text file or fully put into a blank file).
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
.......ur joking right?

No offense, but writing a floating point to hex program should take all of 10 lines or so of C#/Python, do you really need to recruit someone to make a program that is so simple? Just post what your trying to achieve in the long run.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Just back from training and im very disappointed, no pm's and a not so good comment from dantarion.

Well either way, this is what im doing, importing completely new models (ones straight from your modeling program). Im pretty sure the method is different from randomtbush's way, but since his explanation wasn't all that in depth, i could be wrong (the only thing the same is the whole biz on the tristrips).

Atm im 99% sure i can import new vertices, polygons and UV coordinates (they are all fairly basic either way). Im pretty sure i know how the materials work (there are a few things that bug me though). The only thing im not 100% comfortable with is how skinning is dealt with, i think ive got a good idea on how it works, but i would like to check it out some more.
 

Smash Bro

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
365
Location
Finishing school in Rustboro City
This thread is DEFINITELY going to fill up later today. You're getting closer to importing models straight from model-creating programs, like 3DS? This is a breakthrough. Literally unlimited possibilities for Brawlers...

Bravo, VILE. You never disappoint. *bows*
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
It will involve super annoyances (lining up the pointers and all that shiz), if i can get someone to write a mess of apps to do everything auto, i guess an ASH type thing could be made to run them in 1 fluent motion.
 

luigiman1928

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
648
Importing Polygons, vertices for those polygons, and UV Points for those verteices.... Vile, you are epic win. If you cant get a NES into brawl, i will give you my sister. She's pretty.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
http://www.mediafire.com/file/xj3tmbzwntw/Head%20Raw%20Float%20Vertex.txt

Well it should be fairly simple, every string without a space (20 in hex) should be converted to hex from floating point.

I'm off to school, so when i get back I'll have an hour or so to do the NES thing then I'm off to training, then i will be free to do more stuff.

Well see you guys after school, i will post more details on what needs to be made.
 

Kryal

Smash Ace
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
560
Pharrox started a project about a year ago to do just that. He worked more than eight months and didn't finish. Manipulating model files is not easy.

That and steps are already being made so that this can be done.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Yeh well that's why i never really did much with it, but since he stopped i thought, i don't wanna wait anymore.

So yeh a few days ago i looked at how collada files are built, how MDL0 files are built.

EDIT: Oh and with the nes model, ill get right on it.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Well im off to training again, so anyone who can write that float to hex converter would be awesome.

EG: Float = 0 so the hex will look like 00 00 00 00

So each byte has to be separated be 1 space.

Also, randomtbush, if you can tell me how to export tristrips, that would be awesome. ATM my 3ds max is being gay with them and i cant get collada dom working. There is another way of exporting the polygons though, i might actually use that method (but its good to have both, just in case).

In theory, getting all the parts of the model suitable for brawl is fairly easy, the hardest part is just putting them in the MDL0 file (constructing one from scratch), but you can just replace some MDL0 files parts and just fill with 0's, it depends on how professional you are with what you are doing.
 

el_refugio

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
117
Well im off to training again, so anyone who can write that float to hex converter would be awesome.

EG: Float = 0 so the hex will look like 00 00 00 00

So each byte has to be separated be 1 space.

Also, randomtbush, if you can tell me how to export tristrips, that would be awesome. ATM my 3ds max is being gay with them and i cant get collada dom working. There is another way of exporting the polygons though, i might actually use that method (but its good to have both, just in case).

In theory, getting all the parts of the model suitable for brawl is fairly easy, the hardest part is just putting them in the MDL0 file (constructing one from scratch), but you can just replace some MDL0 files parts and just fill with 0's, it depends on how professional you are with what you are doing.
Do I have to store every dword in different lines? Or I can store them keeping the same line structure of the original file?
 

el_refugio

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
117
Here you have:
http://www.mediafire.com/?zzj2zczt4m2
(it saves every float value in different lines, tell me if you want it different).

Place the txt file in the same directory and rename it to test.txt.
And just run hexfloat.exe. You can capture the output of course (and I guess it's what you want :).
Finally, I don't know if you are using big or little endian, so I added an option to use one or another, just add -e as a parameter.

Examples:
hexfloat.exe
hexfloat.exe -e
hexfloat.exe>out.txt
hexfloat.exe -e>out.txt
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Ok cool that works perfectly.

Now all i need is a a tristrip processor.

<p> 100 200 </p>

would become:

98 00 02 00 64 00 64 00 64 00 C8 00 C8 00 C8

Explanation:

98 00 is always there

02 is the amount of the numbers in between <p> and </p>

00 64/00 C8 is just those numbers in <p> and </p> converted to hex (every number has to be 2 bytes long then repeated 3 times)
 

RandomTBush

Smash Ace
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
889
Location
Donut Plains
(every number has to be 2 bytes long then repeated 3 times)
Uh... No. It will not work that way. I can tell you right now that the numbers don't represent the same thing -- they're for vertex #, normal # and UV #, respectively. They're not always linked to the same number. Take a look at a few models in Brawl, and notice that a bunch of them won't have the same number of entries for vertices, normals and UV mapping. That's why repeating the same number three times won't work.
 

luigiman1928

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
648
Awesome, do you have a pic? And The Vertices and UV Points and Normals Polygons are connected. So if its just a vertice addidtion then it wont show up without a polygon, and even then it wont show up with textures.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Sigh, you didn't listen did you. I used the same method for exporting the vertices from 3ds max to brawl, i didn't actually ADD anything, its just an example of the vertices appearing correctly in 3ds max first.
 

luigiman1928

Smash Ace
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
648
Oh. well im allittle sleepy and my head isnt working right, i went to bed at 3:00 AM last night so.... Using Vertex editing method with the vertices appearing properly? OMG. Thats win enough for me! (hope i put this correctly)
 

fortwaffles

Smash Ace
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
514
i could make that program, in fact, the model resizer program i make reads float from the file, converts it to dec, multiplies it, then converts it back to float. PM me if you need it still
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
If you can make a tristrip processor, that would be awesome.

I think i figured out what was wrong with my method, i just wanna double check though.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
I'm gonna figure out how polygons are converted into tristrips and vice versa, it would be good to have someone who can code lined up so i can get this over with as soon as i figure it out.


After this there really wont be much to importing new models, all i will need is to do how bones are skinned to the vertices and that's it.
 

Alonguy

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
17
Hey, need a programmer? I can do C++, but not C#. (So I may not be able to help.)
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
I can make C# programs, but I think that there are many programmers that are better than I. If you can't find any programmers, please tell me.
 

...:::VILE:::...

Smash Ace
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
786
Well all i need really is something that can handle txt characters. All you need to be able to do is just be able to add a small hex sequence with a varying value (depending on the amount of text number values), adding the number of text number values and dividing them and converting text number values to hexadecimal values.

This can all be done with outputting all the values in a txt format or directly to a hex file, its all good. If you guys feel like you can do this, tell me (there might also be a few other similar, simple things, but that's about the jist of how difficult the code will be).
 

pokelover980

Smash Ace
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
905
If Lua could handle such a thing (and could make programs for that matter) I'd make it, but Lua is such a simple language that it can't handle it.

I'll take another chance at learning the C/C++/C# syntax as well as try and learn GML and see if I can do something with those, though, because I'd love to be of a help.
 
Top Bottom