• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Grab options

dlen06

Smash Apprentice
I'm new to playing link, and have been doing ok with him, and after experimenting with his grabs i'm still not sure which is best. At low percents i find myself d-throwing to bair, but at higher percents i don't have a consistent strategy.

What do other link players do with their grabs both at high and low percents.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

sasook

Smash Champion
At higher percents, Link's grabs only have one advantage - a set up for juggling. This is because all 4 throws will send the opponent into the air.

At low percent's, dthrow isn't bad. People like to use fthrow or bthrow and follow up with a DAC too.

BTW, if you're new:

1) Welcome

2) read the guides on the boards (they're all stickied except mine)

4Serial

Smash Lord
0% - D-throw > grab again works on some characters, and is a decent surprise move you can probably pull off once in a while. Don't get too obvious with it though. I think b-throw can chain together at 0% on some characters as well since it sends them really low and horizontal.

Low% - D-throw > u-tilt or u-smash is good. You can also use f-tilt, but it's a lot harder to follow up. You can also jab and use jab cancels to grab again. I believe f-throw > f-air works on bigger characters too and you can probably grab them after.