• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

[Code] 16:9 Widescreen Support

Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
1,126
Location
Boise, ID
NNID
dansalvato
Woohoo! Thanks to the work Massive and I have been doing for SSBM Online, I present to you a code which enables true 16:9 widescreen support in Melee!


Widescreen Support (v1.2)

04BDC5E4 3FCFC217


That's it! I accomplished this by modifying the camera's FOV (field of view) to encompass 4/3 the angle, and Melee's coding is basically smart enough to do the rest. The ONE problem with this code is that it doesn't fix the HUD stretching. This doesn't concern us because we're redrawing the HUD anyway, and honestly it's not even that big a deal.

If you're wondering what people would use this for, the answer is Dolphin. Dolphin's built-in "widescreen hack" causes a slew of problems for Melee, including offset nametags and bubbles, as well as a number of stage backgrounds being messed up. This AR code does not have these problems.

If you're using this code in Dolphin, make sure you choose a 16:9 resolution like 1280x720, set the Graphics settings to "Force 16:9", and do NOT enable "Widescreen hack".
 

Zinth

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
133
Location
Norman, Oklahoma
Pretty cool. Here are some screens I took for a direct comparison:

Standard resolution


Widescreen resolution


I look forward to seeing the redrawn HUD!

Also, do you eventually plan to implement a solution to fix the stretching of the menus outside of a match? Or do you consider that to be more irrelevant?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
1,126
Location
Boise, ID
NNID
dansalvato
Also, do you eventually plan to implement a solution to fix the stretching of the menus outside of a match? Or do you consider that to be more irrelevant?
It's irrelevant for SSBMO because we'll be using our own menus. It's probably just another camera value, though.
 

Instasquid

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
6
I hope this isn't too old to add to. Heres the memory address (1.02) that the memory address in the code is loaded with. 803BCB98 It seems its a set value, so if you change this once it should always load that value. Here is the PAL version of that address. 803BD210

Here is all of pokemon stadium.
 

Zeldastriker

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
92
I know this is super old, but hopefully someone will reply. I'm using this on my Wii U with nintendont, and sometimes the code doesn't work, or it takes a minute to render properly, like it'll be stretched for a few seconds and then suddenly it will snap to proper 16:9. And on certain event matches/stages(?, I'm not exactly sure what causes it), it won't work at all.
 

Achilles1515

Smash Master
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
3,211
Location
Cincinnati / Columbus OH
I know this is super old, but hopefully someone will reply. I'm using this on my Wii U with nintendont, and sometimes the code doesn't work, or it takes a minute to render properly, like it'll be stretched for a few seconds and then suddenly it will snap to proper 16:9. And on certain event matches/stages(?, I'm not exactly sure what causes it), it won't work at all.
Are you using the one line code on the main page of this post?

If so, try this one.

Code:
16:9 Widescreen Support (v1.02) [InternetExplorer]:
C2021ABC 00000002
39C00001 38600006
60000000 00000000
C236A4A8 00000007
C03F0034 2C0E0001
41820024 3C004080
90010030 3C004040
90010034 C0010030
EC210032 C0010034
EC210024 39C00000
281E0000 00000000

16:9 Widescreen Support (v1.00) [InternetExplorer]:
C2021A3C 00000002
39C00001 38600006
60000000 00000000
C23685F4 00000007
C03F0034 2C0E0001
41820024 3C004080
90010030 3C004040
90010034 C0010030
EC210032 C0010034
EC210024 39C00000
281E0000 00000000
 
Last edited:

Zeldastriker

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
92
Are you using the one line code on the main page of this post?

If so, try this one.

Code:
16:9 Widescreen Support (v1.02) [InternetExplorer]:
C2021ABC 00000002
39C00001 38600006
60000000 00000000
C236A4A8 00000007
C03F0034 2C0E0001
41820024 3C004080
90010030 3C004040
90010034 C0010030
EC210032 C0010034
EC210024 39C00000
281E0000 00000000

16:9 Widescreen Support (v1.00) [InternetExplorer]:
C2021A3C 00000002
39C00001 38600006
60000000 00000000
C23685F4 00000007
C03F0034 2C0E0001
41820024 3C004080
90010030 3C004040
90010034 C0010030
EC210032 C0010034
EC210024 39C00000
281E0000 00000000
Right, but that's just the regular code. If you use that one, the backgrounds and effects are glitchy and rendered weirdly. That's the same thing as just enabling the universal widescreen hack.
 

Doq

Smash Lord
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,037
Location
The Lab, Sweet Home, OR
Right, but that's just the regular code. If you use that one, the backgrounds and effects are glitchy and rendered weirdly. That's the same thing as just enabling the universal widescreen hack.
Incorrect. This here widescreen code is 99% perfect widescreen sans offscreen bubbles. You're likely doing something horrendously wrong. I should know, I'm a Nintendont myself.
Oh ok....I'm out of the Widescreen Hack loop. So do I have the wrong one in my pack?
No you're fine.
 
Last edited:

Zeldastriker

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
92
Incorrect. This here widescreen code is 99% perfect widescreen sans offscreen bubbles. You're likely doing something horrendously wrong. I should know, I'm a Nintendont myself.
No, when the screen flashes when someone gets hit, it's only in the 4:3 region, some stages backgrounds are only rendered in the 4:3 region and black everywhere else... it doesn't look pretty sometimes, but that doesn't happen with the camera-based one.
 

Doq

Smash Lord
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,037
Location
The Lab, Sweet Home, OR
No, when the screen flashes when someone gets hit, it's only in the 4:3 region, some stages backgrounds are only rendered in the 4:3 region and black everywhere else... it doesn't look pretty sometimes, but that doesn't happen with the camera-based one.
You must seem to have an older version of the code. Grab the latest one from the Melee Gecko Codes thread. (it's also posted above by Achilles)
 
Top Bottom