• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Writing

MidnightAsaph

Smash Lord
Link to original post: [drupal=1271]Writing[/drupal]

Well, I thought I should write a blog considering I'm a writer and that's what writers do. I didn't know what to say, so I thought I'd just say what was on my mind.

I'm in the process of writing a fiction series I hope to publish one day. It's comparable to quite a lot of things, but I'd definitely stick it in its own category. It's far from medieval and modern society, but takes what it has from both concepts... Anyway, I've blasted through quite a few all-over revisions of the first book. My writing has definitely improved, but as usual

finalark

SNORLAX
Interesting, as a writer myself I take interest in others works. So it's far from medieval and modern but takes concepts from both? So is it similar to Eberron? Or is it Steampunk or what?

MidnightAsaph

Smash Lord
Well, look at the world as it is now. Just because Edison didn't invent the light bulb doesn't mean someone else wouldn't have. With that in mind, my story is basically a world with more metaphysics, you know, magic and such, but it also introduces things of the modern world, just invented earlier or invented not at all.

If I had to explain it to you simply, it's our world, earlier in time, while adopting things such as plumping earlier than it was conceived. The general idea, however, is that it's medieval (there are swords, horses and castles). It's also notable that the style back then is similar to that of now. No old English (there are even references to modern day lingo).

Unfortunately, I don't read as much as others. Are those books good?

finalark

SNORLAX