• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

What’s the most underrated simple mechanic that people ignore?

MG_3989

Smash Lord
Switch FC
SW-8397-3391-6411
In my opinion it’s teching. I didn’t start teching until I started playing Ultimate and it’s improved my gameplay by a lot. It will prevent you from getting stage spiked at lower percentages, it will make command grabs far less effective, and it’ll stop a lot of follow ups when you get hit and grounded. It’s a really simple concept that can really improve your game. What do you guys think is something important and simple that a lot of people miss?

Sean²

Smash Capitalist
Switch FC
SW-7479-8539-5283
Pummeling after getting a grab.

MG_3989

Smash Lord
Switch FC
SW-8397-3391-6411
Running.

You can win neutral by simply running and baiting someone.
I think people are starting to catch onto the fact the running and walking are good move options and dashing and rolling aren’t the only ways to get around. That’s definitely a good one though
Pummeling after getting a grab.
This. It’s so easy to do and the extra damage can be a difference between a kill or your opponent surviving. It’s free too, you can’t get punished for pummeling

Arthur97

Smash Master
I do lots of pummeling. It just feels so good to do. Unless they're low. Then it may be best to throw, but I often go for one or two anyway. Unless you're using Yoshi. Then just pummel away.

RepStar

Banned via Warnings
Switch FC
SW-5945-3794-8387
Whatever teching means...i know pressing the shield button to roll back onto the stage after recovering on the ledge is good.

MG_3989

Smash Lord
Switch FC
SW-8397-3391-6411