• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Potential Sheik "Counter"

Status
Not open for further replies.

ᖇᕧᘘᓋᗂ

Smash Rookie
Hello everyone, my name is Renoy. I'm a rookie Meta Knight main (Meaning I have a lot to learn), and today, I wanted to discuss something with the community. So, as we all know, Sheik has no bad match ups in the current state of the game, however their are characters that can 50/50 (or close to 50/50) Sheik. Some of those characters include, Yoshi, Sonic, Kirby, and Sheik. All of those characters are usually recognized when someone asks "Who counters Sheik." except one. I've yet to see anyone actually work this match-up, but on paper, this match-up seems really good. Kirby vs. Sheik. Because Kirby is light, he isn't very easy for Sheik to combo, Kirby also has 5 jumps, so he doesn't exactly have to be "careful" with his jumps. That means, he can dodge a lot of Sheik's kill set-ups without much effort (Meaning bouncing fish, down throw up air/up B, and other strings/combos that can lead into many of Sheik's kill options). And if the Kirby player wanted to, they would easily be able to challenge Sheik offstage. Another "advantage" Kirby has on Sheik, is Kirby kills Sheik a lot earlier than Sheik kills Kirby, that combined with Sheik having a harder time landing her kill options would allow Kirby to stay alive quite long for a light character. Last, but not least, I want to mention that Kirby can inhale Sheik for needles. Needles can be used for various follow ups, and they also give Kirby a decent projectile. Now, "Sheik must have something on Kirby" you might be asking, and she does. On stages with platforms that Sheik's Up Smash will always sweet spot, she can e