• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Olimar Strategies?

Sasum

Smash Rookie
I'm new to Brawl and I've been using Olimar.

I realize that I'm probably not doing the right moves at the right times.

I usually throw pikmin while waiting for the opponent to approach. If they approach in the air I usually either jump and perform an air attack or let them land and grab them or dash away. If the approach from the ground I f-smash or d-smash and if the opponent shields I grab them.

Is this bad or should I add anything to my strategy?

:phone:

IcyLight

Smash Lord
This kind of fighting game isn't as linear as that, if you have a set strategy you will get predictable and they will not get hit anymore.

Try mixing up aerials, running away, pivot grabbing. Don't do 1, mix it up and do all of them!

I suggest you head over to the video compendium and watch some videos to get some new ideas!

http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=283030

Sasum

Smash Rookie
I see. Thank you the response. If I stay to close to a strategy I won't be able to adapt to other situations. I've been battling people on fsmash.org and I've seen a definite improvement in my Marth and my Olimar.

Dnyce

Smash Master
I'm new to Brawl and I've been using Olimar.

I realize that I'm probably not doing the right moves at the right times.

I usually throw pikmin while waiting for the opponent to approach. If they approach in the air I usually either jump and perform an air attack or let them land and grab them or dash away. If the approach from the ground I f-smash or d-smash and if the opponent shields I grab them.

Is this bad or should I add anything to my strategy?
throw pikmin until you can forward smash or grab?