• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

I am a newb and...

thaxceptional1

Smash Lord
do not understand the

Position [Basic Offensive Options] [Additional Options] [Leads Into...]

can someone please explain this to me, because i want to get better with kirby

thanks

Dogysamich

The Designated Hype Man!
BRoomer
I dont exactly understand what you're asking for, but im gunna take a stab in the dark and see if this works.

-----

There will be some obvious variation to this, from player to player, so dont take these as "the law" of kirby. But it's a generalization that I use when I play "i guess"

1) Basic attack options
This is the stuff that you can start with, approach with, etc.

- f.tilt
- d.tilt
- f.air
- d.air
- d.smash

If you approach blind (with your back to your opponent), you can add
- u.tilt
- b.air

2) Additional options
This is the kind of stuff that you use after you have momentum, to break momentum, or in special situations.

- jab ( or jab-jab. I'm not a fan of the vulcan jab combo)
- swallow
- grab
- u.smash
- u.air

3) Leads Into . . .
These are things that can lead into other things (not specifically combos, but more of setups)

- grab
1) d. throw
- to tech chase
- to d.smash
- to u.tilt (on some characters, or on missed tech)
2) u. throw
- to u.tilt

- u.tilt
- to u.tilt
- to b.air
- to d.smash (low %)

- air f/b.B (depending on how you want to land)

1) landed front
- to d.smash
- to grab

2) landed blind
- to u.tilt
- to b.air

Those are some of the general things i use (I guess, i just had to stop and analyze my own game in my head, lol).