• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Where is Fox generally on the tier list and how to KO?

horizons889

Smash Apprentice
He's my main in smash and I'm pretty new to the game overall. My other main is ness which I generally do better with.. mainly because I can land KO's easily. I find it hard to land my up-smashes with Fox :/ Anyways, how strong is Fox in the meta game and how does the future look for him? Tips on how to land my KO's (like up-air/up-smash) would be appreciated. I land them every now and then, but not consistently.

ZeroJanitor

Smash Ace
Slippi.gg
ZJ#732
NNID
ZeroJanitor
Switch FC
SW-3025-9002-7252
General concensus is that Fox is an A tier; not quite one of the best, but a very strong contender regardless.

Some solid setups for upsmash include short-hop fast-fall down-air, and late hit neutral-air. These can also be tricky to hit, but are at least safer than going for it raw. Also up-smash out of shield is a really good option if your opponent isn't pressuring safely enough.

You can combo into up-air with a tipper down-tilt, and possibly a dash attack if the opponent DIs poorly. Up-airs at kill percents aren't quite so easy to get, but they do make for a good juggle option at lower percents.

M@v

Subarashii!
A lot of people have Fox as top tier honestly. Personally I have him as 5th, behind Sheik, Rosa, ZSS, and Ryu. His only glaring weakness imo is having awful options getting up off of a ledge safely.