• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

When to use Utilt?

Thee Incubus

Smash Journeyman
Ok, so Utilt is a great KO move, but does anyone have any good moves leading into a Utilt?

Utilt's range is so bad, you gotta be so close to hit him and just charging in to Utilt your opponent is no good...so.....

What do you suggest leads into Utilt well?

Xgamer1224

Smash Rookie
well i dont know any moves that lead into it, but use it when you may be using ur neutral combo and then use it. replace it with other tilts. that imo is good, but im no pro so anyone feel free to criticize.

Jengs900

Smash Cadet
I personally like waiting for someone to come in for an attack, shielding, and then punishing with U-tilt. I'm sure there are better methods though.

Meme

Smash Journeyman
Switch FC
6939 6733 3968
It's kinda hard to follow-up and attack with U-tilt, I prefer to have setups for it, poking with F-Tilt, waiting for them to roll.

Hmm.. you can counter attack certain moves, mostly aerial moves, with up-tilt, since Dedede kind of leans back a little and then headbutts, you've to get used to the timing.

d >_>b U-tilt does have it's priority, no is not as crazy compared to others, just try to avoid countering disjointed hitbox attacks.

Oh yeah, U-tilt >> Yoshi's Down B

d >_>b... oddly enough Yoshi get's sent to his death and Dedede only gets a sort of Clank animation.

Koop_88

Smash Journeyman
I use U-tilt in my own personal fresh stock combo.