• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

The Competitive Stage Builder Thread

MadKraken

Smash Cadet
If competitive custom stages are to become accepted, it may help to detail requirements/preferences for competitive stages beyond just no hazards.

I'm not a pro player, but here are some rules I try to stick to when I make my stages:

Requirements
  • At least one main platform
  • - Non-drop-through
  • - Grabbable edges on both sides
  • Every platform must be at least 6 grid blocks wide (an individual Mario is 2 blocks wide)
  • There must be no "V" shaped formations without an at least 6-block wide space to stand at the bottom
  • The vertical distance between any platform and its vertically nearest neighbor must be traversable by Mario using only double jumps
  • The whole of the stage must be traversable by Mario using only double jumps (no solitary, distant platforms)
  • The vertical distance between platforms directly above each other should be at least 6 blocks (Mario is 3 blocks tall)

Preferences
  • Symmetry? (to avoid any subtle stage advantages a player may have over the other at the start of a match)
  • Every drop-through platform should have a non-drop-through platform somewhere directly below it (does not have to be under the whole platform)
  • A non-drop-through platform should not have another non-drop-through platform below it (to avoid excessive camping)
  • Excessively wild terrain should be avoided (grid-snapping is highly encouraged to avoid the small quirks common in hand-drawn platforms)

Piford

Smash Lord
NNID
SuperZelda