• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Learning Zero Suit Samus

Munas

Smash Cadet
Well, I'm fairly new to ZSS and after having looked through the stickies I can't recall seeing any subject quite like this.

Essentially what I'm looking for is some discussion of the major road blocks facing new ZSS players and especially anything that can be done to expedite the learning process. If there's certain stages, opponents or manuevers that should be practiced (against/on). Which techniques should a ZSS Newb focus on first? Etc...

Snakeee

Smash Master
Well, you want to get started on the right track, and I hate when I see ZSS players develop on the wrong foot. The main thing that I notice almost all ZSS players do (not just new players) is play almost completely defensive. They don't go for any big combos, and don't utilize her speed well.

My style is basically spacing myself with forward Bs, Down Smashes, and paralyzers until either:

1) I find an opening
2) One of the attacks hit
3) The opponent breaks through my spacing

If the first or the second occurs, I try to follow up with a big combo because once ZSS is on the offensive she has a big advantage.

If it's the third possibility, then I either jab or use an f-tilt or d-tilt before my opponent can grab or attack me. ZSS is fast enough against most characters to be able to pull this off.
Edgeguarding is another part of this. People seem to be afraid to edgeguard with ZSS fearing that they will get gimped themselves. ZSS actually has some of the best edgeguarding in the game, but you have to first learn ZSS' recovery well before you can properly utilize this.