• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

LAN vs WiFi

Status
Not open for further replies.

KishSquared

Smash Master
Hey all,

I just purchased a LAN adapter, and I'd really like to run some tests to see if it's truly better than WiFi for playing Brawl online. I don't expect to see a difference unless I play with someone that also has a LAN adapter. Are there any lab members that have a LAN adapter?

Just an FYI - I'm a wireless network engineer by trade (sporting multiple Cisco certifications to back it up!), so I'm intimately familiar with the technologies behind LAN and WiFi. I'm well aware that the speed of WiFi is plenty good for playing a game like Smash, but interference can cause degradation. I have personally seen this twice - once from direct interference (from a Wavebird, no less), and once from environmental interference caused by other WiFi devices. Therefore, it's no debate that WiFi in inferior to LAN, the question is simply by how much, and whether it's worth it for people to purchase these devices.

So in short, I'm not looking for a debate or discussion on what should or should not be the case with WiFi vs LAN. I'm looking for some hard data by actual experimentation. So... any takers?

infomon

Smash Scientist
Is there any published info about the network topology Nintendo employs for its wi-fi stuff? I mean, in a 1v1 match is data being routed through some nintendo servers or does it actually do a "direct" internet connection, the hosting wii acting as a server? and etc. miscellaneous other questions about what sources of lag exist in wifi matches.........