• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Is this what high level play is?

BlueXenon

Smash Lord
NNID
Blueoceans26
3DS FC
3050-7832-9141
Since I started playing the game nearly a year ago, I have always wondered what makes up high level play. I think I have the answer now. Please tell me if I am wrong or missing anything.

• Decision Making - High level players need to know their options in all situations that aren't neutral and have to try to pick the best option for each situation.
  • Reads - Once you adapted to your opponent well enough, you can start to guess what their going to do and counter it. You can also make reads based on your opponents character or by completely guessing.
  • Spacing - Using your moves with the hitboxes that are most favorable to you.
  • Zoning - Setting up a "wall" of attacks to keep your opponent out.
  • Mechanical Skill - The ability to do basic things like jump, short hop, dash...
  • Technical Skill - The ability to perfect shield, tech, DI, platform cancel, and do character specific things (like ic's chaingrab).
  • Neutral Stance - Winning in neutral stance is very important because it gives you the advantage.
  • Resetting to Neutral - A player with the advantage can decide to go back to neutral if he is scared he can't keep his advantage and a player with a disadvantage can attempt to return to neutral instead of trying to go from disadvantage to advantage.
  • Stage Control - The player with a better position on stage has stage control.
  • Recovering - Getting back on stage or to the ledge with out getting hit.
  • Edge guarding - Preventing your opponent from recovering.