• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Input responsivenes?

Super4ng

Smash Journeyman
Hey everyone, I'm a noob when it comes to modding and I am trying to get my feet wet. One thing I've noticed that is different between project m and melee, is that inputs are a lot more responsive for project m (like in melee, trying to dash dance but only turning in place). Is there a way to improve the way melee responds to inputs?

Super4ng

Smash Journeyman
I wouldn’t really call it “responsiveness”, as your controller responds in-game the exact same way. Various techniques in Project Magus just have a more lenient timing input window, which makes them easier to perform.
https://smashboards.com/posts/20457804/
Good stuff, thanks for the link. Timing window I guess is more appropriate, I've also heard input threshold. For some reason it just doesn't seem like the right word. Maybe I've just been reading too much textbook for school haha.
I have a few other questions: is it possible to put turn around b mechanic into melee? (This I know works in project m)
Does Project M have a buffer window?

Last edited:

Achilles1515

Smash Master
Good stuff, thanks for the link. Timing window I guess is more appropriate, I've also heard I put threshold. For some reason it just doesn't seem like the right word. Maybe I've just been reading too much textbook for school haha.
I have a few other questions: is it possible to put turn around b mechanic into melee? (This I know works in project m)
Does Project M have a buffer window?