1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash stuff and support the site, like a Nintendo Controller or the Wii U - Gamecube adaptor ! Check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

How-To: Gamecube Games on Your Wii U (or newer Wii)

Discussion in 'Melee Workshop' started by DoctorKirby, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    [​IMG]

    DISCLAIMER: There have been some issues with running games with an actual memory card. I will write up another guide for doing so with a virtual card using your save data.
    So if you're anything like me, you have a newer Wii or a Wii U, right? That's why you came to this thread in the first place. Well whilst looking through my vast local library of Homebrew, I stumbled across a pretty recent piece of software that allows 2012 Wii's and Wii U's to play Gamecube games. This guide I wrote is for those who are like me and want to Melee or... well since this is the Melee Workshop, just Melee! :p

    You'll need a few things:
    1. Nintendont. This is the piece of software that is the core of your Gamecube play.

    2. Make sure your IOS 58 is up to date. Wii U's you're fine, but Wiis should be at v6176. NUS Downloader and WAD Manager are helpful for this.
    3. A compatible controller. Right now controller support is really vast and easily extensible. If your controller doesn't work it's a piece of Chinese crap and get a good controller.
    4. A copy of Melee. No I will not provide this for you, go get your own.
    Setting up your Wii (U):
    Pre-1. Install your IOS if necessary. You know the drill here, I hope.
    1. Put Nintendont in your SD like any other homebrew. Here is an icon.png and a meta.xml for the OCD.
    2. Plug in your controller. On Wii U's this is in the front, on 2012 Wii's this is in the back.
    3. Just copy your image to K:\games\foldername, where K:\ is your SD card and foldername can be anything. Rename the image to "game.iso".
    4. Boot your Wii into the homebrew channel and launch Nintendont.


    Any issues you find just let me know.

    Rev2: Removed DMToolbox. It's not needed anymore.
    Rev3: Updated Nintendont links.
     
    #1 DoctorKirby, Jul 1, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
    Myougi and Quillion like this.
  2. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    So this works for the Wiis from 2012-, right?

    Those are the ones with no GCN stuff. Can I use it on the Wiis with GCN stuff on them?
     
  3. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Yes. It's totally fine to use.
     
  4. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    What happens if, after attempting to boot the game, my Wiimote has all of it's "player lights" turn on and linger there, and I get a black screen?
     
  5. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Hm. Never had that happen before. Make sure you have a 4.3 Wii.
     
  6. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    It's 4.3.

    I think someone suggested that my CleanRip of Melee was corrupted. I've re-ripped it and I'm preparing to try again.

    Someone else suggested (off this site) that it's my flash drive that doesn't work with DIOS MIOS. Unfortunately, there's only a very limited database on what flashdrives work with them.
     
  7. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Most "flash drives" will work with DM/ND. Some external HDDs will not.
     
  8. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    DIOS MIOS and Nintendont are completely separate, correct?

    If DIOS MIOS is installed, does it interfere with Nintendont's operations?
     
  9. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Yes.

    No.
     
  10. ragnarokx

    ragnarokx
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    How is the lag playing on Wii U using normal LCD TVs? Is the Wii U able to play Melee in HD so there is no upscaling lag?
     
  11. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Nah. There's still lag. Sorry. Try using a TV less than 32 inches or so, those don't upscale.
     
    ragnarokx likes this.
  12. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    I've gotten a Melee SD Remix FST running off of SD on Nintendont.

    Compared to DIOS MIOS, the loading times are much greater, but things are generally more stable. For example, completing Adventure Mode and beating Giga Bowser doesn't cause the game to crash.
     
    itisME likes this.
  13. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Protip: Nintendont has a feature to cache files in RAM so the game loads faster in menus and such.
    See https://github.com/thedax/nintendont-gamecaches and http://gbatemp.net/threads/nintendont.349258/
     
  14. Jorgasms

    Jorgasms
    Expand Collapse
    tiny.cc/19XXTE

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Purdue University
    Didn't follow any of you guide. Worked on 2006 Wii that has DIOS MIOS on it. Unfortunately, the Blue PS hack still doesn't work.
     
  15. Goxplex

    Goxplex
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Panamá
    Try Nintendont.
     
  16. Jorgasms

    Jorgasms
    Expand Collapse
    tiny.cc/19XXTE

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Purdue University
    I'm using Nintendont right now. Still Green. However, I love the virtual memory card so I'll probably stick with it.
     
  17. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
  18. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Later versions of Nintendont don't require these and load files from your SD as fast as possible.
     
  19. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    So will the cache system still work to speed it up if you have a recent version?

    Another thing, how do you get Nintendont to read your physical memory card?
     
    #19 Quillion, Nov 7, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
  20. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Yeah. All the cache system does is copy often-used files to unused RAM.

    Hit B for settings and turn Memory Card Emulation off.
     
  21. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    When I turn MCEmu off (for SD Remix), it's unable to write to the Memory Card. It can't save anything.

    When MCEmu is on, it can save things.
     
  22. Goxplex

    Goxplex
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Panamá
    I have the same problem, my physical memmory card doesn't want to work with Nintendont. It works fine in Dios Mios. It's not really a problem since I can use virtual memory card, which works fine.
     
    #22 Goxplex, Nov 7, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
  23. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    Yeah I'll probably add a disclaimer (and make yet another guide)
     
  24. zz_halim

    zz_halim
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Krefeld, Germany
    Somehow forcing PAL60 doesn't work with nintendont, I get a black screen when trying it. Leaving video on Auto gives me a black and white video signal since I use SCART/have a PAL Wii. Any suggestions/ideas? Thanks in advance
     
  25. Goxplex

    Goxplex
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Panamá
    Also, don't know if its just me but sometimes stages and the menu load without music. This is fixed by just reseting the match or going back to the menu.
     
  26. UniClown

    UniClown
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    If Dios Mios is working perfectly for me now, is there any reason I should install Nintendont?
     
  27. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    If you don't need to, then don't. :p
     
  28. zankyou

    zankyou
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,047
    When using this method, does melee take advantage of the wii's hardware since there isnt a gc inside. for instance, does FoD not lag for teams?
     
  29. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    It uses the native GC mode of the Wii. So no, Fod will still lag in teams.
     
  30. zankyou

    zankyou
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,047
    Oh okay, I was under the impression the Wii U didnt have a GC mode. Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  31. IAmProPAGANda

    IAmProPAGANda
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Maryland
    He's wrong. Not sure why but I tested 4 ice climbers on FoD and it didn't lag at all. Ran perfectly.
     
  32. mooki

    mooki
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Cali
    I get the same issue and was the main reason I switched back to DIOS MIOS. I want to start using Nintendont again for the memory card emulation, but I tried it out again and got the same problem. There's no way that it's only you and me having this problem unless we both have some outdated cIOS on our Wiis or something.
     
  33. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    I get the same problem, but it only happened on newer builds. Idk either.
     
  34. mooki

    mooki
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Cali
    What build are you using where it does not happen? Also, after switching to memory emulation and playing a 6 hour session tonight, it only occured once so it's not the hugest deal.
     
  35. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    I think it was 1.121 or som'n. A build that is REALLY REALLY old.
     
  36. fatman667

    fatman667
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    4S Ranch, San Diego, CA
    How much input lag is there on Nintendont? Just wondering.
     
  37. DoctorKirby

    DoctorKirby
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,030
    Location:
    South Pole, Amundsen-Scott Station, Antarctica
    As much as there is on a Gamecube.
     
  38. zankyou

    zankyou
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,047
    I've heard that the wii u adapters have input lag and/or low polling rates. Nothing on Nintendont's end but something people might want to look into.
     
  39. fatman667

    fatman667
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    4S Ranch, San Diego, CA
    Thanks, I just wanted to know beforehand since my GameCube adapter is arriving soon.
     
  40. Quillion

    Quillion
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,692
    Hey DoctorKirby, what's your opinion on Devolution?
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?