• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How to approach/ space against Marth?

GrilledCheese

Smash Rookie
I have a really hard time with a Marth main who I play with a lot... I guess I'm not good at dealing with Marth's range. Even if I land a hit, I usually get hit right afterward. Advice?

BTmoney

a l l b e c o m e $
Well understand that you aren't just getting hit back immedtialty because he is better than you or something like that.
If you are getting hit right out of your attacks then you are either going for unsafe attacks, he is crouch canceling, you are not spacing well enough, or his percent is too low.

If you have trouble dealing with his range then bair more and bair smarter in all seriousness. Try to bait attacks using your aerial mobility. I like staying at around a 45 (essentially above and away) degree angle up and away from marth out of fmash range. Just float around, jock for some stage control and either punish a whiff or get in with an aerial.

How do you go about approaching him? What does a typical engagement look like from neutral? Is he out spacing you and fair'ing you?
I don't play all that much puff but those are my two cents.

GrilledCheese

Smash Rookie
I think I'm probably not spacing myself as well as I could be. It also might be that I don't think through attacks/ approaches as much as I should.
Usually, I approach with bairs, and yes, he usually catches me with a fair.

GrilledCheese

Smash Rookie
I know Marth should probably be one of my easiest matchups as Jiggs, but still.... I have a hard time with the spacing, and I want to know what I'm doing wrong so I can fix it.

Translucent

Smash Journeyman