• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

help w/ fox.....

Byped

Smash Cadet
my marth is probably still considered a newb. ive got some respectable mind games but i just keep getting pwned by fox. ANY FOX . its kinda stupid. all it takes is up throw and u-air(x3) and i die. this has become soo obvious that complete newbs have seen this strategy and pulled it off on the first try....

how do i get past this?

(i can do most of the advanced stuff but only use what i need)

*can marth use invincibility frames, from grabbing the edge of a stage, to waveland and do a f-smash?

balladechina212

Smash Ace
(i can do most of the advanced stuff but only use what i need)
Your version of 'what I need' is not enough. I've seen you play and you can do the advanced techniques, but you sometimes choose "newb" tactics in their place (such as constant rolling, instead of wavedashing, which you are fully capable of).

You have to play conservative against a Fox. In fact, most of the times Marths should play conservative. L-cancel all your aerials and try to chain fairs (double SH or not). The best way to kill a space animal, however, is too chain grab and lead to a tipper. After they reach the percentage that you can't chain grab them anymore, either utilt into a tipper, or position yourself for a tipper. Also, some Foxes (KrazyKnux) like to DI the up-throw at mid percentages, setting themselves up for a tipper.

The advice above is a combination of my experience and Andy's.

ArcNatural

Banned ( ∫x, δx Points)
And practice DIing the upthrow from fox up and smash DIing to avoid getting wrecked from upthrow to upair. Once you can do this the matchup is a lot more even.

KrazyKnux

Smash Lord