• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Friends wants to get better but never wants me to point out flaws

TheRocan64

Smash Cadet
I've been playing Smash since 64 (but skipped Melee growing up since no GC; have played since and love Project M).

My friends want to get better but refuses to hear what they're doing wrong (along with the right, of course). One friend firmly believes that I should only give positive feedback and because he's near they're level and I'm "that guy who always wins", they listen to him more and they never want to play with me.

Any advice or suggestions so I can teach them better or does this sound like a lost cause?

Last edited:

NurpNurp

Smash Journeyman
I'm no pro, but this is sounding awfully lost cause-y to me, unfortunately. unless you can convince him to drop the negativity towards critique of his play style he's likely never going to improve. It's a shame, but if he refuses to receive the criticism he's not going to polish areas he'd need to fix

Technourgos

Smash Cadet