• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Complete noob, wondering about this "hackless" modding I've heard about?

squidgy617

Smash Rookie
Hey guys, I've been very interested in Brawl modding for years now, to the point where last year I almost got into doing it... until my Wii started to have some serious issues and I sent it into Nintendo to get it fixed. Now, of course, I don't want to risk bricking it through modding and I don't want to void any chance of getting it fixed if problems do arise.

As such, I haven't really done anything at all, but I recently heard something about a "hackless" method of modding Brawl, that is completely safe?

So, I have a few questions about this hackless method.

1) Is it ONLY a part of Project M, Brawl+, etc? I only ever hear about this hackless method of modding when people are discussing these mods and modifications to them. As such, I don't know if the hackless method can actually be used with anything else. If it can be used with other things.... do I need Project M, Brawl+, etc to make any of my hackless mods work?

2) In addition to the above, what can you do with hackless modding? I've heard texture hacks work through it, but could I use model changes (like a simple model swap of Bowser to Dry Bowser or something silly like that), custom levels, or totally custom characters (I believe they are referrred to as PSAs)? If I can do these things, how would I go about doing them the hackless way?

3) Is "hackless" modding the same as softmodding? Are they equally safe (won't void chances of system repairs, don't stop me from getting system updates, etc)?

Thanks in advance.

Pseudomaniac

Smash Journeyman