1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 150,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 15 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Trying to find the perfect gift? Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash accessories, like a Nintendo Controller! Please check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

BrawlBox Creation & Showcase Workshop: Post your BrawlBox stuff here!

Discussion in 'Customized Content' started by Isatis, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. ds22

    ds22 Smash Lord

    • Project M Dev Team
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,630
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    I don't think it's the fault of the method we currently use.
    It's a difference in model size.
    It can probably be fixed if we could increase the size without modifying the bones or giving it the bones from a Brawl character so that the size of the model is adjusted to normal in Brawl.
    BTW, the model of Death the Kid is in fact large, probably even larger that Ganondorf.
  2. RandomTBush

    RandomTBush Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Donut Plains
    "Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection."


    Also, I'm an idiot. I think I might've found out the problem I had with getting the hat working on Jigglypuff, and it's a really simple fix.
  3. Alphatron

    Alphatron Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,016
    You're no idiot and you know this. I'm getting hyped just reading this topic now.
  4. ds22

    ds22 Smash Lord

    • Project M Dev Team
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,630
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands

    Oh ok.
    I forgot about that.
    I got exited because one of those models was the Kyuubi as a separate model.
    It was also as big as a normal Brawl model (comparing it with Rayquaza's size).
  5. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    I made a stage in a rather unconventional way...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    It doesn't look very pretty but it works XD. (It was about 90% made in paint x_x)



    Also, just because it looks funny, my first quick test of 2D stages:

    [​IMG]

    Quality wasn't my main concern.
  6. StarWaffle

    StarWaffle Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,485
    Location:
    BC
    omg those are hilarious, love the n64 one
  7. It's a forum

    It's a forum Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    I'd love those stages KuroBit, can we have a DL?
  8. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    I don't see why not, since I made mostly everything on it. Let me just do some more editing on Hyrule Castle first, and then I'll edit my last post with the link.

    EDIT: Actually, keep looking down, I'll make a new post.
  9. Power Marshall

    Power Marshall Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Everywhere
    lol, how is it possible to draw models... I certainly am missing something haha.
  10. mariorocks64

    mariorocks64 Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Now I'm stuck on stupid! How did you make these stages?
  11. Mr.Chuy

    Mr.Chuy Chuy

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,817
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas

    Simply epic stages kurobit XD
  12. luigiman1928

    luigiman1928 Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    I think he just got Flat Zones BG and Edited it to look like that and Drew to make it look like a stage. Am i right? The Paper Destanation made me lol.
  13. superyoshi888

    superyoshi888 Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    If I was to make a 2D stage part I would use an Assist Trophy. In fact, I do use one in Castle Dedede.

    The great thing about the 2D stuff is that you can make ANYTHING you want....you just can't make it in 3D. Well, I guess pre-rendered 3D graphics could work.
  14. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    I replaced the background with the Advance Wars soldier, and the stage with the Advance Wars tank. The stage replaces Final Destination, but it's so basic that you can just import and export the models and textures into another stage and it should work fine.

    I added stage music to the .zip file, but if you just want the stage, just go into the pf/stage/melee/ folder and it's right there:



    You can use this to make really anything you want. Just draw the foreground and background, move the layers a bit if needed, edit the collisions, and you've got yourself a (2D) stage XD. The models should fit well on the screen, so you wont need to do much scaling.
  15. luigiman1928

    luigiman1928 Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    You sir, are a beast. maybe now we can have Mario Bros 1-1 for real! Or some really wierd things.

    [​IMG]
  16. spiderjjr45

    spiderjjr45 Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    cough

    [​IMG]

    This might help in the making of Hyrule castle.
  17. digiholic

    digiholic Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    RandomTBush, I'll fix that program later tonight. It's an easy fix, but I'm not at my normal computer right now.
  18. RandomTBush

    RandomTBush Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Donut Plains
    Thank you, that will be handy.
  19. digiholic

    digiholic Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  20. It's a forum

    It's a forum Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    The 2D stages shouldn't look as bad when played on Hanenbow and Flat Zone. I just ported 2D Hyrule Castle to Hanenbow and plan on doing the same to Flat Zone. Has anyone else tested the 2D stages with the 2D filter?
  21. hotdogturtle

    hotdogturtle Smash Master

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,338
    No, but I'd like to see pics of that. Also, has anyone figured out how to add the 2D effect to other stages yet?

    If nothing else, at least this 2D stage thing should be able to provide a nice looking Paper Mario stage.
  22. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    dudeeee. You're amazing.
  23. E-Jolteon

    E-Jolteon Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    The other side
    Some things are best put on hold until model hacking..

    Funny, though.
  24. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    why did you quote that whole post x_x

    and these are amazingly sexy regardless. model hacking may look better but in the long run this is much more fun xD
  25. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    My stages kind of remind me of bad Super Smash Bros. fan-games XD.

    Ah, I didn't think of that. But how do you remove the stage elements from those stages? (The bouncing fish and the G&W games)
  26. metaXzero

    metaXzero Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,489
    Location:
    Under the ground.
    Ya know, what would happen if you used this method on characters?

    I can imagine some funny 2D stuff happening...
  27. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    If we could figure out how to make texture animations, we could have entirely 2D characters XD.

    EDIT: I overlooked that Tails on Sonic thing o_o... Nice job LuigiMan.
  28. metaXzero

    metaXzero Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,489
    Location:
    Under the ground.
    Blazblue sprites go!!! XD

    Though I'd expect G&W knockoffs before that.
    Hope animations are figured out one day...
  29. zaneebaslave

    zaneebaslave Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Up and down the produce aisle!
    Suppose I made this nice model....

    [​IMG]

    Would any Mother 3 fans make this into a character for SSBB? I am none too computer savvy, so I cant make this puppy for myself, but it would be bloody awesome to see one of these in Brawl. Plus, I would like to share my joy with the rest of humanity if at all possible. Come PM me if you are interested. I'd like to see what you think.
  30. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    Made a quick 2D one... Gonna test, expecting freeze <_>. If it does im gonna need halp.
  31. Sora Master2.0

    Sora Master2.0 Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    313
    yey!
    How well does it work?
  32. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    Wow that pigmask is amazing. I'll PSA it when putting it in becomes possible. And grrrrage. Instead of the lovely stage I was expecting, I got two huge squares with what looks to be pallettes? on it. And the collisions didn't work at all :I
  33. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Wow, seems like a lot of stuff went wrong for you... Can you upload or email me the file? I'll try to see what's wrong.

    Also, I drew a stage and scanned it into the computer :p

    [​IMG]

    Didn't come out as nice as the original drawing, but it works...

    EDIT: Updated the image, looks a bit nicer now.
  34. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    I think it'd be better if you just made a guide xD
  35. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Where (and how) would I do that? I've never written a guide before, so I don't know how good I would be at it.
  36. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    Right here. Just explain what to replace the textures with (what filetype, how many colors, level of detail, all that razz), stuff like that
  37. KuroBit

    KuroBit Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Basic 2D Level Making Tutorial:


    First download my 2D Hyrule Temple stage [B][U]Here[/U][/B].


    Textures:

    First of all, the height and width of your image your using needs to be a number that's the power of 2. What I mean, is a number like 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, etc...

    Second of all, your image needs to be CI8 (or CI4?) format. For your palette, if you want your images to be transparent, choose RGB5A3, otherwise use RGB565. I don't think the number of colors matter, so just pick the lowest amount of colors where your image still looks good (saves space the lower it is). I'm not sure if MIP levels effect anything, but if it's not working try setting it to 1.

    EDIT: I forgot to note that transparency can only either be on, or off, no in-between. I mean, you can set it, but brawl will automatically either turn it on or off. I also forgot to say, the height and width of your image do NOT have to be the same, you can have a texture of 32x256 if you want and it should work in the game.


    Models and Collision:

    When your making your collision data, If you've changed the stage/background position in it's animation, remember that you need to have the exact same data in it's non-animation state (you can change this when your already in an animation by going to frame 0), otherwise, it won't show the same in the collision editor.

    EDIT: Also, when moving or scaling bones, I think you can use any bone you want (except I've learned you should probably stay away from the TopN and Soldier bones when scaling), but the scaling factor on TransN is special. The values I put in make both models almost exactly the same size, so changing that will make the images sizes different. Although if you just have a basic cloud background or something, feel free to change these. You only need to keep them the same if you need something from the background to be directly under an object from the foreground.
  38. [TSON]

    [TSON] Hella.

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,327
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    NNID:
    oTSONo

    oh, powers of two... that's what i did wrong...
  39. McSnappleton

    McSnappleton Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    933
    Location:
    Level 01
    Duster > Mother 3 > Pigmask
  40. cookieM0Nster

    cookieM0Nster Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,513
    Location:
    oakland
    Uh, If I were to give someone an image, could they make it into a stage? I just got back into the hacking scene and well I am mentally retarded at doing this sort of thing.
    I promise it will be full of win.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?