1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 225,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Right now the Smash Controller is on sale for $23 on Amazon! Get the Smash GameCube Controller now!

  4. Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash stuff and support the site, like a Nintendo Controller or the Wii U - Gamecube adaptor ! Check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

Wii Disk Drive Won't Spin

Discussion in 'Computer Support Café' started by Fire!, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. Fire!

    Fire!
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,049
    Location:
    Seattle
    3DS FC:
    2809-9924-8928
    NNID:
    Fire149
    As the title says, for every game, my Wii Disk Drive won't spin. The Wii says that the Game Disc could not be read whenever I insert any Wii or Gamecube Disk.


    I currently don't have an extra 80$ to get my Wii fixed. Is there anything I can do to try to fix my Wii before I send it in? (Disk Clensers, Give the Wii rest, etc.)



    [DETAILS]
    I first experienced this problem when I was logged online on Animal Crossing: City Folk for the first time. The Wii Disk Drive tried to make my disk spin, but it made a strange noise. I gave it a days rest and now the Wii won't even attempt to spin any of my disks. I have also tried blowing into the Wii's disk drive because I heard that the problem may be that the inside is dirty.

    I HAVE called Nintendo Support, but they didn't help me the way I wanted. (They want me to send in my Wii for 80$ in repairs.) Right now, my Wii is currently "Off", not "Standby Mode." All the other functions including Internet, Channels, and Virtual Console games also work fine.
     
  2. AltF4

    AltF4
    Expand Collapse
    BRoomer

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,045
    Location:
    2.412 – 2.462 GHz

    Yup, sounds broken, lol.

    Not much you can do when the hardware is broken. It's not like I can tell you to run down to RadioShack and pick up a new Wii Opical Drive. And even if you could, you wouldn't be able to install it!

    So, if whapping doesn't work, then you're stuck with sending it in.
     
  3. Xsyven

    Xsyven
    Expand Collapse
    And how!

    • Back Roomer
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13,941
    Location:
    Las Vegas

    Seriously. Beat it up. If that doesn't work, and you end up breakin' it more-- you were gonna send it away anyway, amirite?
     
  4. Fire!

    Fire!
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Champion

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,049
    Location:
    Seattle
    3DS FC:
    2809-9924-8928
    NNID:
    Fire149
    Well I waited like another day and my Wii is trying to spin the disc now. But its still making noise, a bad noise. It trys a bit then stops spinning.


    Also, has anyone had a similar problem???
     
  5. ndayday

    ndayday
    Expand Collapse
    stuck on a whole different plaaaanet

    • Premium
    • Back Roomer
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    19,603
    Location:
    MI

    Kind of, but it only happened with Brawl and kind of affected other games as well, for example in GH the notes would be off, but all you would have to do is pause and un-pause.

    I sent it in and they apparently replaced the disk drive. However, your problem sounds different then mine in the fact that it doesn't read any disk at all. I'd say send it in or try finding an excuse to send it in for free, since Ninty fixes it for free if Brawl isn't able to be read.
     
  6. eman

    eman
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Farmington Hills, Michigan
    seems like it was the part of the game that you were in that messed it up, sorry dude, if I find a way to fix it ill let you know... :p
     
  7. Stroupes

    Stroupes
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    Tennessee
    My Wii reads Brawl like every other 4 times. But it reads other disks fine.

    And my copy of Brawl works on other people's Wiis. Just not mine, for some reason. So I'm not quite sure what the problem is with mine either.
     
  8. saggy_brown

    saggy_brown
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Cadet

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    This actually happened with my Gamecube. Making the noises and everything. Wouldn't work for a month. The I opened up one day and noticed under the disck spinner there were these little fibers tangled underneath, and after a couple hours a picked them out and it worked. Don't really know how you would check that on a wii though =(
     
  9. ExCeL 52

    ExCeL 52
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    Suck My Kiss!
    Exact thing happen to me ... four months ago ... You have to send it in man ...

    That or buying a whole 'nother Wii for $250

    but I dont think you wanna do that...

    dont you have a warranty?
     
  10. knightzy

    knightzy
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Soul Society
    this happens to alot of wii's,every wii has a disc that it dose'nt like,and cant load it,makes a sound like it is chewing the dsic etc. my wii has this it plays all games perfect except brawl.
     
  11. Klink

    Klink
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Journeyman

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Belgium,Antwerp,Sint-Lenaarts(Brecht that is)
    same with mine: it usually reads brawl after 6 attempts or so, but now it's already taking 300+ attempts
     
  12. Ange

    Ange
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Sweden
    Seems like Brawl and Wii is a ****ed up combo. :/

    This has aswell happened to me before. I cant remember how it sounded, but when I put in my Brawl disc and turned the Wii on, it.. apparently tried to spin the disc, made a strange noice, repeated about 5-9 times before saying "Disc couldnt be read etc, etc..." on the TV.

    Im actually afraid you have to hand it in anyway. Seems like a problem we cant fix for the moment.
     
  13. ~N9NE~

    ~N9NE~
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Master

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    London
    NNID:
    LondonAssyrian
    I have the same problem as Stroupes and sometimes when Brawl does work, it takes longer then usual to load and randomly pops up with error screens.

    Handing it in seems the only solution.
     
  14. Tee ay eye

    Tee ay eye
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Hero

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,627
    Location:
    AZ
    Has anyone found a fix for this yet?

    My Wii began doing this last week, and I searched Google and found this topic among others.

    Infract me if you must, but I want an answer.
     
  15. AltF4

    AltF4
    Expand Collapse
    BRoomer

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,045
    Location:
    2.412 – 2.462 GHz

    Why would I infract you? This is the right place to ask this question!


    The original problem was quite likely from the disk falling out of place while spinning inside of the Wii. This could have been caused by you turning it on its side, a strong bump, or just bad luck. :( Check the disk for scratches.

    In any case, it's a hardware problem. Which means that there's nothing I can tell you to do that will really fix it.

    Though if I were you I'd try playing the console on itsside, upside down, etc... and see if any of those help.
     
  16. Ravener

    Ravener
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Western Australia
    send it in or u can just buy a brand new wii
     
  17. D4RK M4$T3R

    D4RK M4$T3R
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Mine does not work either. I was playing Black Ops Zombies for the billionth time then it said error. Tried again and error. Tried again, won't spin. Beat it up, won't spin. It made loud noises for a year too. Won't work for any other game either. No warranty left what do I do? It did this before and I beat it up and it made loud noises but worked fine.
     
  18. Zatchiel

    Zatchiel
    Expand Collapse
    Sweet dreams beauty queen!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    11,027
    NNID:
    Zatchiel
    My Wii reads Brawl past the Strap and Loading screens, then the disc stops and i get "Disc could not be read." My copy of Brawl i've had for a year, and it has NO visible flaw on it besides a very very (near unnoticable) slight scratch near its rim. Okay, now that that's understood: My sisters have a deplorable copy of Wii Sports. It's copletely MUTILATED with scratches and fingerprints. It literally looks like they attempted to engrave their names. It loads without flaw, in the slightest. What is the cause of this issue? I'm going to try again tomorrow, then i'll go and buy a new copy if need be.

    This is one "happy" new year.

    Was this the wrong place to ask?
     
  19. dnjjkelly

    dnjjkelly
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Hi, had the same problem with my wii. went on to you tube and looked at zombie consoles .com or something similar. great videos to help you open your wii. I had to order some tri wing screwdrivers first. My wii was full of fluff and dust so I cleaned it all out. I was getting the same error messages as you and my wii would take a disc and eject but would not recognise the game disc. The wii will not spin because the laser optic has failed. It may look like it's working but it won't be. You may be able to see the red light from the laser but trust me, it will be the laser not sending a strong enough signal to the optic, back to the disc. I took it to a local console fixing shop and he fitted a new laser assembly. (£40.00GBP) Seeing it done has made me confident to replace mine again if needed. Hope this helps you and everybody else struggling for an answer.
     
  20. smittygeek4273

    smittygeek4273
    Expand Collapse
    Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    i have this same problem
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?