• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

What are the differences in clone characters?

LividLynx

Smash Cadet
So I am new to smash all together, so this is an ignorant question. I don't know too much about the game, except that I love it.

Some characters have very similar move sets. Like Fox vs Flaco, Cpt Falcon vs Gandorff, and Marth vs Roy. The main differences I can see between the characters, besides a few moves, is speed vs power.

I am asking this because I was watching a Project M demo with Roy on a live stream (VGBootCamp), and made the comment "Roy looks like a Marth clone," and then few people in chat went super saiyan mocking me. I'm not butt hurt about it, I just want to know why the characters are so different. I understand that the differences in speed and power can really change a play style of a character. I just don't get why calling a character a clone is so insulting.

So if anyone cares to set me straight by telling me the differences between characters with similar move sets, it would be greatly appreciated.

Sebovich

Smash Apprentice
Lot of small differences make the characters vastly different, for example Fox and Falcos shine, both really similair moves esthetically but vastly different in its effect. Falcos shine sends opponents upwards, allowing him to execute sick combos, while Fox´s shine is perfect for edgeguarding and gimping at low percentages.

DrinkingFood

Smash Hero
generally the word clone implies things are so similar that it makes no difference which is which. It's more or less the connotation of the word choice that sets people off.