• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Want to pick up R.O.B., a few tips to start?

DNeon

Smash Lord
NNID
D_Neon_Lamp
Hi guys, Zelda main here. I'm pretty new to the competitive side of stuff, only recently getting to a local tourney. I'm looking for a secondary that should be easy for me to transition to, but still in my style of play (been trying Dedede, but not going so well). Considering that I find projectiles and grab combos the most fun part of playing Zelda I thought I'd give R.O.B. a go, since that's a large part of the gameplay I've seen of him. Was wondering if you guys had any tips for getting started with him.

Obviously I've messed around with all characters when playing with friends, so I know what I'm most worried about with him. First is recovery habits, Zelda's spoiled me, and secondly is the lack of a get off me button like Nayru's, so what do you do when they close and pressure?

Thanks!

Constadin

Smash Apprentice
  1. Practise beep boop (dtrow upair) combo to get it for dmg raking and as a kill tool latter on.
  2. Use Nair a lot.
  3. Use Dtilt a lot.
  4. Use neutral b a lot.
  5. Learn to UPsmash out of shield.
  6. Search the ROB forums and guides (most important I think is this one http://smashboards.com/guides/upgrade-learn-r-o-b-s-advanced-techniques.256/ ).
  7. Slowly learn his advanced technics (Gyro cancel is a sos).
  8. Watch videos online of good ROB players to get familiar with his playstyle (MR Eric's video is a really good start).
  9. Most importantly!!!!!!! Play with the GYRO. Experiment with it, use it all the time!!! ROB is unique only because of his gyro. Learn gyro spiking and and ledge gyro set ups.