• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Too much Samus?

Mervis

Smash Journeyman
So I've played for nearly a year now and Samus is by far my most played character since I started playing again. Even in friendlies I play 95% Samus with like 1 Captain Falcon game mixed in. Despite the many games with her, I feel like I'm stuck in a rut and am getting worse. Any other die hard Samus mains get this from time to time? Should take a break with Samus?

JerkPhil

Smash Journeyman
I had this feeling too. Then I realised a lot about my own play last May. The thing was I was playing too much on auto pilot. When I realised this, I wrote a long post in my regional smash group about it, and they should expect me to rise in skill. I was right. Now when I think through every decision, I feel I can adapt to my opponents' plays. I also get rid of most habits this way. I feel I've reached a higher level, and tournament placings reflects this.
I don't know how consciously you play, but this really helped me.

Another thing is to try to experiment with other styles. Watch IHaveSpaceBalls' matches and get inspired to play a faster, flashier Samus, or watch Duck and HugS to get inspired to play a more cautious, defensive Samus. It's really helpful to learn different styles, because in the end, it's always good to know all aspects of your character.