• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Stage positioning questions

BertEast

Smash Apprentice
I've been playing puff since January 2014. And I have a few questions regarding stage positioning.
I'd really appreciate some serious answers, I feel I've hit a block on this part of my game.

1.Against certain characters, what are some of the area's of the stage I want to control? Where should I be trying to push my opponent?

2.After taking a stock, where do I want to place myself on the stage? What do I need to focus on when coming back on stage?

3.What are the best ways to utilize my airspeed when playing a retreating/chasing game against my opponent?

Last edited:

Massive

Smash Champion
1.Against certain characters, what are some of the area's of the stage I want to control? Where should I be trying to push my opponent?
Generally you should be trying to push everyone towards the edge. No character had an advantage over puff there and you can gimp basically everyone.

Your goal should be to force opponents offstage so you can exploit your advantages there. The ledge should be your natural habitat.

More specific knowledge:

Against spacies you need to control the area diagonally above them (stuff their jumps OOS and otherwise) and platforms. Without those 2 things spacies are left with substantially limited options. Try not to cross them up or stay directly above them for very long, they can convert those situations into punishes against you. Also, dont land with an aerial out vs Fox. You WILL get grabbed.