• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Solo Samus Drills

Mervis

Smash Journeyman
I've been playing for a few months now and I seriously lack in tech skill. I can accomplish most of Samus' "high level tech", but not consistently. Anyone have any good methods on practicing alone?

Morgue

Smash Cadet
I've only just started training super hard. My drills don't require an AI (yet)(but sometimes my roommate will hop in and drill some things too).

I recommend trying to make a goal. An example of that is 25 consecutive DJ Missiles canceled by platforms. So far, I have only gotten to about 6, because I only just recently started attempting these. My fingers are still being trained to be very quick. [Sidenote: I wasn't very good at short hopping with Samus before this, but now that I am getting used to pressing :GCY: stupid quick, I am unintentionally short hopping. Getting your fingers used to very fast inputs I think is key.

Consecutive training. It doesn't make sense to train something, but not CONTINUE to keep training. Give yourself a minimum of 30 minutes a day to drill certain things. If it's going to be a long drill session, try making other goals as well and alternate between different techs.

After destroying my fingers with DJMC w/ platforms, I try to attempt some Hylian Lowriders, or maybe Charge Shot turnarounds in mid-air if you are recovering facing the other direction from afar.

That's all I got. I only started drilling, but some of these things I have read in other posts or have heard from my friends.

C-SAF

Smash Journeyman
Wavedash, wavedash, wavedash