• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Official Character Ranking System

fMaster

Smash Cadet
Hi my name is fMaster and I am currently studying Actuarial Science (a mathematics based degree). I am currently working on a formula to rank SSB64 characters but need to collect much much more data! If there is a database, and if not currently can we form one, that contains huge quantities of saved games (specifically containing the players, their respective characters, the level and the winners). I have currently developed a program for storage and basic analysis, but I would like to expand my analysis to a generalized ranking of all characters. The formula should work with user rankings as well. Anyone willing to assist or having information about an idea similar to this already, please comment!

Battlecow

Play to Win
There's no such database

We had like an elo system going, but that was more for players than characters

and you'd need one of those before going into character stuff, which would be pretty shady even then...

Anyways, good luck, I don't have any data to give you

ballin4life

Smash Hero
Hey fmaster, perhaps take a look at the match up chart here: http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=241670. Then you could maybe plug in those values into your formulas (i.e. if a matchup is blue then plug it in as 70 wins, 30 losses, if it is green plug it in as 60 wins 40 losses, something like that).

Also I thought we did a newer matchup chart than that one I linked; does anyone know where to find it?

fMaster

Smash Cadet