• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Noob Trying to Short Hop

samspot

Smash Rookie
Ok so I'm finally trying to improve at smash so I started practicing the SHFFL. I can most parts ok from time to time, but I'm having a lot of trouble doing a consistent short hop, even after spending quite a while just trying to short hop all over the arena. I've just started breaking in a new controller so I'm wondering if that is a factor. Maybe it will just get easier with practice. Right now I'm trying to sort of bang on the button really quickly to minimize the time its pressed down, but that completely falls apart when i follow it with an 'A'. Does it take most people a while to become consistent on this? ('m using 'Y' by the way).

Klowne

Smash Journeyman
I don't think it's a good idea to bang on it like that. It's probably better if you learn to press it very lightly and quickly, because like you said, it's harder to string things together when you're hitting the button too hard.

When i was practicing the shorthop it was pretty painful and irritating, but after sleeping it over and trying again the day after, it was monumentally easier. So i'd say to just keep practicing and don't feel like you're not getting anywhere, because it will eventually become second nature as long as you keep doing it.

garbage

Smash Journeyman
I use "Y" too. Yea, it's frustrating at first. But when you get that first SHFFL'd Fair with Marth...
It's all worth it. :)

SmashWolf

Smash Journeyman
NNID
EchoSon
3DS FC
3738-0429-7658
Like Klowne said, shorthopping is done by lightly pressing the jump button, not bashing it.