• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Noob question about DI

LadyKillaCaillou

Smash Rookie
So I would like to preface this with the obvious, I'm brand new to smash boards aad to competitive SSBM. So if I am posting in the wrong place, please let me know and I will delete this post and repost it where it should be.

However, that aside, I have a simple question about DI. When DI'ing a smash attack (or any attack for that matter), do I need to be tilting the C stick and D stick as I'm being hit or when I am in the air (ie after the hit connects). Or both? Thanks for the replies.

- Caillou

Drodeka

Smash Journeyman
Standard DI will affect where you travel UPON being hit. In fact, all DI will, but there are two types of DI.
Standard DI simply affects where you travel, but it must be perpendicular to your default trajectory from the attack.

"Smash" DI moves your characters actual position while in hit stun. This is done by inputting a direction on either stick the moment you get hit, or almost immediately after (stronger attacks have longer hitstun, thus easier to Smash DI).

Make sure not do confuse Smash DI with some sort of DI that is specific to smash attacks, as their is no such thing.
The easiest DI to learn is the DI of throws. This is where I would begin practice. Most characters have one or two throws that they will be using. Just try to figure out and predict what throw they are going to use and what they are trying to do afterward.