• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

No charge smash up-a or uair?

Poke

Smash Cadet
I was playing my friend alot today, the whole time me being marth and doc. 6 hours, actually. Anyway, I found that when I had him in the air, in a way that he's going to be falling immobaly in second or two, I had an option of u-airing, fast falling, l canceling and going up for another combo or racking up some damage with an up-smash. Unless he's got 100% or higher, the up-smash pretty much has no knockback.

What do you find best for this situation?

Nightblade

Smash Journeyman
I'm no Marth expert by any means, but in almost all ways, Marth's up-tilt is much better than his up-smash. Larger range, less lag, easier to tip.

You could also move (wavedash or otherwise) out of the way and get him in a fsmash.

Byped

Smash Cadet
use up- tilt , up smash is for newbs................

up-tilt is probably one of the best moves marth has (behind f -smash)

if you can, let him fall and catch him in a fair combo untill he is off the edge.

It takes some practice but when he is off the stage use your b-bair + edgehog to keep him off.

Byped

Smash Cadet
wow
you reponded 1 minute before me

it wasnt on there a sec ago....

Tyson651

Smash Lord
Byped, use edit function, too much double posting will get u banned.

uair is great, probably only against marth, roy, sheik, ganon, link, ylink, or other people close to those weights.

usmash is useless.

pyrotek7x7

Smash Ace
Uair is a favorite of mine, because it is excellent for juggling on players that don't know how to air-dodge. >_> It goes straight through Link's Dair. :)

Juke

Smash Journeyman