• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

New to Link

Triforce Jeremy

Smash Rookie
Hi guys!

I'm pretty new to Link. I just started playing him a few days ago. I was attracted to him after watching all these videos of SSBB Pro Link chars hopping around and flinging bombs, arrows, and boomerangs almost simultaneously. It's pretty cool.

Anyway, I was wondering if some of you guys could give me some general advice, since I'm only starting out. I'm also sort of new to this whole SSB game, so if someone could maybe explain some popular terms like this "z-air" stuff. I use the Wii Remote sideways too, so maybe I should switch the remote + nunchuck?

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. :]

Crooked Crow

drank from lakes of sorrow
"Z-air" is just using his clawshot grab in the air. It has really good range, enough knockback to chase them away, and pretty much no lag upon landing. It's amazing for spacing, use it against big targets or against characters that like to jump a lot.

I can't really give you any advice for controller settings since I don't use the Wii-mote. Just use whatever you feel most comfortable with.

There's plenty of guides on these boards you can look at to get some information about Link.
The video guide - http://smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=167650
Skler's guide - http://smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=156063
Odin's guide - http://smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=166181

Blubba_Pinecone

Smash Ace
Well, seems aAndy has covered the videos and Zair for you.