• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

New to G&W

TheFatHen

Smash Rookie
Hey I have just joined the fourms, and I am looking to get into competitive smash. I am quite young I'm only 13, but I want to learn Game and Watch and prepare for tournaments. My brother plays in tournament and he is helping me out, but I would like some specific help with Game and Watch and any other help with playing in tournament. I'm not too sure what happens at my local scene and how to go about it so some help with that would be good.

Metmetm3t

Smash Lord
Yo, FatHen. As a beginner I would suggest you focus on learning the game and not necessarily the character. Nothing wrong with brushing up on some G&W specific things here and there, but understanding the exact purpose of things like DI. dash dancing, or SFFLing, out-of-shield options or ledge mechanics will take you really far really fast.

[to be edited bbl]

Also for future reference, don't make new threads unless you are bringing up something worthwhile. It's much easier for us to keep things like your questions in our general Q&A thread.

TheFatHen

Smash Rookie
Yo, FatHen. As a beginner I would suggest you focus on learning the game and not necessarily the character. Nothing wrong with brushing up on some G&W specific things here and there, but understanding the exact purpose of things like DI. dash dancing, or SFFLing, out-of-shield options or ledge mechanics will take you really far really fast.

[to be edited bbl]

Also for future reference, don't make new threads unless you are bringing up something worthwhile. It's much easier for us to keep things like your questions in our general Q&A thread.