• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Marth's SideB...?

King Orpheus

Smash Rookie
NNID
XxLordOrpheusxX
3DS FC
0705-4585-3519
Yo, I'm pretty new to competitive Smash and I have 0 clue how to time Marth's (or Roy's) SideB so I can get my combos in. I had this problem in Melee as well. Help is much appreciated.

Reginleif

Smash Ace
The intervals between pressing the "B" button have to be the same. Doesn't matter how fast or slow you go as long as you hit them at equal steps.

Evil Idol

Smash Rookie
NNID
Evil_Idol
You can also hold up or down on the control stick while using it to change the attacks a bit.
I found that in Brawl, a tipped xxx^ would often star KO at higher percents. It's a bit harder to land in Melee and PM but DB has more knockback in PM and Melee so it'll probably have a similar effect.

InfinityCollision

Smash Lord
The intervals between pressing the "B" button have to be the same. Doesn't matter how fast or slow you go as long as you hit them at equal steps.
Not quite true. Some variations are faster or slower than others, and it's possible to delay the next attack slightly as a timing mixup. It's not terribly useful for Marth (mostly see this with Roy, who has a better side-b in PM), but if you commit to a side-b string it's worth bearing in mind.

WhiteKnight

Smash Cadet
NNID
Stealthfox2
yea its about this 1 2 & (3) & (4) at least thats what works for me...

Binary Clone

Easy Money since 1994
Premium
InfinityCollision is correct.

You can't really button-mash your way through it. You need rhythmic button presses, but you can alter the speed in the middle of the series by mixing up the timing of your presses.