• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Looking to improve.

ElLosangeDehNoobish

Smash Rookie
A pretty straight-forward tittle!

I'm a terrible player but I genuinely want to get better and improve. It's my first time actually trying to reach out to the smash community, so this feel pretty intimidating. I don't feel confident in my skills and since I have an HD TV, there's a slight delay between the input commands and what my TV show, so making combos or trying specific things feel slow and wonky. I also happen to have a few bad habits like rollings and shielding, a huge difficulty dodging in general too.

I'm a Robin main that can play Ike and Sonic to a certain level, i have a hard time following guides and videos and i never understood why I have trouble improving with the help of those two... So if anyone is willing to help me be more confortable and get used to the slight delay I seem to have, it would be really nice to have someone's help! Or even a sparring partner. I lack friends that enjoy playing sm4sh. I play the WiiU version but I also have the 3DS one.

Thank you for your time and for reading, have a nice day.

KirbCider

Smash Ace
This sounds a tad bit difficult-ish to answer, but I shall try.

The reason why I say it sounds a little bit difficult is because there may not be a perfect solution to your input delay issue short from buying a new TV which is obviously costly and unnecessary just for a game. The only real answer I would have is either try to somehow see if you can configure the settings so the input delay is no longer an issue or just keep playing until you adjust.