• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Learning to DI

Sonicdahedgie

Smash Apprentice
All right, I'm fairly new at the game, and I know how important DI is. I know how to do it, I know the proper way to do it, I know everything about it.

Except for how to use it.

I don't mean the mechanics of it. I just can't find way to practice using it. To this date, I've done it correctly once.

How did everyone else here learn to use it? Remembering it in the middle of a Brawl just doesn't work for me. Even when I do remember during the brawl, I forget about it the second I'm hit, and instead start thinking "CRAPCRAPCRAPCRAPCRAP."

Barge

All I want is a custom title
It's all about habit. Play a game with someone, it doesn't matter how well you play it, play your worst you've ever played in your life for christs sake. Just try to focus on DI-ing.
Try to remember it when they're sending out a laggy attack (DDD's Fsmash, Ikes Fsmash, etc).
Hell, get hit by one on purpose just to practice it. Once you get the hang of it you'll eventually do it without even thinking.

DKKountry

Smash Ace
Corneria... Fourth Planet of the Lylat System
What is DI like how do you use it?
Main-Fox if that helps..
It means Directional Influence.

T___L___X___R____MID________________T