• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Inquiry About Zamus Mechanics and Custom Moves Optimization

~Infinity~

Smash Champion
3DS FC
4441-8710-6567
So here is the deal: I have little to no experience with ZSS. I barely touched her in brawl and I only ever knew about her to play against her online/offline. With that said, I have trouble effectively using her grab tether in the air (not sure if it is even viable) and do not know anything to follow up with a grab besides Fair. Do not get me wrong, I do not want day one combos, I just want people, who have played the character in Brawl and tested her mechanics in SSB4, to give me their two cents on the matter.

YAYCONFORMITY

Smash Apprentice
ZSS has changed a LOT since Brawl, so the skills that worked in Brawl will not transfer over too well.

Her Zair is like most Zairs. Hitting it will take practice and is more useful against some characters than others. Characters like Jigglypuff will not be good characters to use it on. Bigger characters like Bowser will be good targets. The easiest time to use it is against characters that frequently use short hopped aerials. If you really want to know about Zairs though, you might want to poke around the Samus boards. They'd have more info.

Following up with throws gives you a few options. At mid/high percentages, Fair is the way to go. This will generally put them off the stage, and put them in an awkward positions.