• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

IMO Marth Is A Severely Flawed Character

AceTechHD

Smash Cadet
NNID
AceTechHD
I have been playing Smash 4 Marth since October 3 2014. At this moment in time I have clocked over 650 hours in Smash 4 Wii U & 3DS combined. When I first played Smash 4 Marth it was clear as day to me that something was Amis. I just didn't know exactly what. So I did what quite a few (most) other players did, I picked up a new character. I played Shulk for a short while but ultimately found myself playing Marth once again. Over the past few years I have encountered cheap loss after cheap loss using Marth. I don't have hours and hours to edit together videos to show you today, but believe me some of these losses simply shouldn't have happened. So What I decided to do is put together a list of Marth's weaknesses compared to other characters in Smash 4. Now before you type up some long repose trying to disprove what I'm saying, just read what I have to say and ask yourself do I have a point or what.

Marth:

Strengths: Tipper, Walk speed, Sheild breaker, Good recovery.

Weaknesses: Underwhelming overall range, Spike is laughably horrible (Dair), Very weak attacks (untippered), Too much end lag, Limited combo game, limited approach game, Weak grab game, Dancing blade easy to DI out of, Easy to camp out with projectiles, Counter sometimes fails and is somtimes completely useless (try countering Cloud's fully charged F-Smash and tell me Marth's counter is good).

Now that we have Marth out of the way let's compare him to other characters.

Mario: