• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How should I Practice?

Burning Boom

Smash Apprentice
I recently managed to get my hands on Project M ( I've known about it for a while, but my old copy of Brawl had broke), and I'm loving it. However, I know I'm not that good at this game (no equipment to post vids of my play), and I don't have others to play with. What single player setting (character, mode, stage, etc.), do you guys suggest for getting better at the game. I use Sonic, and Charizard mostly, occaisionally playing Squirtle, Bowser, Donkey Kong, and Toon Link if that helps (I know big list, but it's so hard to choose).

Any contribution to this thread would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Kink-Link5

Smash Hero
Lab Work can work for a lot of stuff, but the decision making skills needed to play against humans can only be expanded upon by playing with other humans.

For your situation, do lab work and just practice tech skill.

CPUs, while good for very very little, can also at the least give you an idea of how move priority works since they're very predictable and you can capitalize on this fact 90% of the time. Since you use Charizard, seeing how the priority on nair, bair, fair, D-smash, Jab, and U-smash work is a good place to explore. Gaining information from frame data can be really helpful as well.

Visit the character specific boards for info pertaining to their movesets, strategies, and applications.

BTmoney

a l l b e c o m e $
Check here and the melee boards for characters that coexist in both games.