• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How good is SHFFLNAir to approach?

jordanm43444

Smash Journeyman
NNID
Jordanm43444
So im pretty new to Lucas. Having dropped and picked up a lot of people in 3.6 so far I think I have finally settled on a main. Now I ask this question because I use this as an approach a lot yet I almost never see anyone else do it from any Lucas vids ive seen.

EclipseSmash

Smash Cadet
NNID
TheHeroOfHylia
3DS FC
5043-3010-8901
I think it's conceptually better to use DJC fair to approach since it's safer and arguably easier to hit.

D e l t a

That one guy who does the thing with a camera.
Hello there and welcome to the threads. The current version is actually 3.5, whereas v3.6 will be released in the upcoming months. I believe I've explained a bit about Nair in the Lucas guide, but here's a quick breakdown.

Summary
Strengths: beats out crouch cancels especially when followed up with Dtilts. Great on shield. Potential followups based on DI and the last hitbox that connects with an opponent.
Weaknesses: Multi-hit, doesn't trade well, low priority, small range, knockback only results from the latter hitboxes.

==

Explanation
Nair has 2 types of hitboxes- a multi-hit aerial hitbox with knockback at the end of the move, and a grounded hitbox upon landing (if the move hasn't finished in the air that is). This makes Nair a great move for shield pressure & beating out crouch cancels.