• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How can I improve my marth??

edgeswipe21

Smash Journeyman
I have been playing ssbm for about 6 months and i don't know alot of people who play smash in my area, so i play practive against cpu. After getting down all the techincal skills i can't find a way to improve my marth in mindgames, since comps are too predictable. Does any one have any advice on how i can improve with my marth?

goateeguy

Smash Ace
it would be helpful if u could post some videos of yourself so we can see just what needs improving. my guess is that if ur playin comps ur not using many advanced techniques. watch the advanced how to play videos on youtube, if u havn't already, then practice shffling, wavedashing, and all that good stuff on a level 1 comp, infinite time on a course u like (my suggestion is mute city so u can smash cars while u play). that's how i got to where i am today, which isn't very far but im proud of it.

_the_sandman_

Smash Ace
Performing aerial bombing raids on the Marth forum
I'm assuming you tried everyone out right? If you haven't yet you should, its good to give everyone a shot.

Anyways, watching videos and other players can be helpful. Of course versing your friends, or even attending tournaments is helpful as well. Just remember to find your own style to smash and try not to impersonate someone else. I can't tell you how many times I've seen someone try to copy a "pro Fox" and fail.

Be open minded, and try to not devote your life to one move or technique.

-=Marth_n_Roy=-

Smash Ace
The best results i've had was to challenge someone that i had no chance of winning. Repeatedly