• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Holy Christ I suck with Fox

AC1D

Smash Cadet
I started playing as fox recently, and thought I was pretty good. Then I went to a local tournament, and got owned. I asked some guys at the tournament for help, and they just said to jump out of shines, and use upsmash alot. Also, Im not very technical. Any advice for a not technical fox?

OF 'til I OD

More vibes, please.
3DS FC
3797-8618-3772
Switch FC
SW-4939-9118-0296
The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem.

gg

Gerbil

Smash Champion
Today is my turn to address someone.

There are more than a half dozen stickies in this section. Use them. That's the best I can offer without having a video of you to critique and look at. All you can do is read up on all of the information and practice.

AC1D

Smash Cadet
That's kinda my problem....All the guides and stuff cater to a very technical fox, which uses shffling, waveshining and such. Im not asking how to use these techniques, Im asking how to survive without them.

Gerbil

Smash Champion
To be honest, you can't survive as fox for very long without the tech skill. There was a point where all of us were unable to pull off Fox's techs, and it just took practice. If you had asked me a year ago if I could waveshine, I would've laughed and told you that I'm not fast enough. Nowadays I have perhaps the most technical Fox in GA. It just took practice.

My point is just to keep practicing the techs. Start small, learning to wavedash consistently, and put it into your game. Then move on to learning how to shffl your different air attacks. By the time you get shffling down, you'll have improved by a lot, trust me.

AC1D

Smash Cadet