• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Help with Fox's Short Hop

Raidx

Smash Rookie
So im a falco main but been practicing fox for a while now (about 4 months maybe even longer) and no matter how much i practice, i just cant short hop consistently with fox. i tried flicking, tapping the edge of x, i even tried using y and nothing works. I been practicing fox shield pressure (shine nair,dair etc.) for 2 days straight non stop basically and im still having trouble with it i honestly dont know what to do anymore, like its been MONTHS ive been practicing the short hop and i still struggle to do 5 in a row. Also im pretty new to smashboards and i didnt know where to post this so sorry if its in the wrong place. Can anybody give me any tips?

IPIQ

Smash Rookie
This really is just a speed thing that gets better with practice. I remember being in your shoes. If it helps, you could try working your way up the list of characters sorted by how easy it is to short hop with here. Just work you way up the list, and eventually you will get to the hardest.

Practice makes perfect!

Raidx

Smash Rookie
This really is just a speed thing that gets better with practice. I remember being in your shoes. If it helps, you could try working your way up the list of characters sorted by how easy it is to short hop with here. Just work you way up the list, and eventually you will get to the hardest.

Practice makes perfect!
I only have a problem short hopping with fox ( and i guess the other characters with the same jumpsquat) but maybe ill try that out anyways lol thanks for the help man!

scrubbEN

Smash Rookie